Snowmobile Safety

Participation in a snowmobile education course will teach how to properly operate and maintain a snowmobile. Laws, responsibilities, and personal safety will also be covered. Passage of a final exam is required for certification. It's important to ride safely, responsibly, and to be prepared before you go. With over 95% of Maine's snowmobile trails on private property, it is critical all riders respect the trails and private landowners by riding responsibly. Educating yourself before you go is an important component of being a safe and responsible snowmobiler.

In Maine, snowmobile safety certification is not legally required, but is encouraged.

The Snowmobile Safety Course is available in two different formats: online and in-person.

Online

Students 12 and older can complete the Official Maine ATV/Snowmobile Safety course online at offroad-ed.com/maine. The cost to register for the online course is $34.95. Upon successful completion of the online course, students will receive their Maine ATV/Snowmobile Safety Certification card that may be printed or you may order one through the provider. This course combines both ATV and Snowmobile content, and while snowmobile education is not mandated by law, it's simply good practice.

Start Now

In-person

In-person courses are available to all students ages 10 and up, and are taught by certified volunteer instructors. The in-person course uses the "Today's Rider" student manual and provides the opportunity to ask questions of instructors and gain further guidance. There is typically no fee to complete a traditional in-person course, although some course hosts require a nominal fee to help cover facility rental or cleaning costs. Please note: Maine continues to offer in-person courses in ATV certification, or snowmobile certification, and some courses are combined courses where the student will earn both. (Check the course listing to find the course you prefer.)

Total Course = 6 Hours

  • Proper Operation and Safety (Riding Skill-Equipment-Maintenance) = 2 Hours
  • Laws = 30 Minutes
  • Emergencies & Survival = 40 Minutes
  • Map & Compass = 1 Hour
  • Self Help First Aid = 20 Minutes
  • Environmental/Landowner/Ethics = 1 1/2 Hours

New courses will be posted below as they become available.

Current Courses

County Location Contact Date/Time Info
Kennebec Sidney - Kramer's Inc Darcey Emery - (207) 699-9623 or darceyemery@gmail.com for questions/information May 25, 9am-4pm

CANCELLED

Kennebec Sidney - Kramer's Inc Darcey Emery - (207) 699-9623 or darceyemery@gmail.com for questions/information June 08, 9am-4pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course - $10.00 due day of class - Lunch is provided

Aroostook Garfield - Garfield Town Office Jessica Craig - jcraig@sad32.org for questions/information June 8, 8am-4pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course

Sagadahoc Topsham - MOMS Darcey Emery - (207) 699-9623 or darceyemery@gmail.com for questions/information June 24, 9am-4pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course - $10.00 due day of class - Lunch is provided

Aroostook Frenchville - Frenchville Community Center Bob Marquis - (207) 436-0953 or bob-mrqs@gmail.com for questions/information June 15, 9am-5pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course

Aroostook Stockholm - Sportsman's Inc Ron Ericson (president) - (207) 551-4494 or rericson@msad45.org for questions/information June 29, 9am-5pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course

Androscoggin Lewiston - Central Maine Powersports Darcey Emery - (207) 699-9623 or darceyemery@gmail.com for questions/information June 15, 9am-4pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course - $10.00/per student-Lunch is provided

Penobscot Garland - Garland Town Office Darcey Emery - (207) 699-9623 or darceyemery@gmail.com for questions/information June 02, 9am-4:30pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course. Donations accepted/Lunch is provided

Aroostook Easton - Easton Recreation Hillary Hallett - (207) 488-6601 for questions/information August 31, 8:30am-4:30pm


Register online Combo ATV/Snowmobile Course

Students must be at least nine years old to attend the course, students under 16 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Can't find a course for your area? Contact the Recreational Safety Division Office at (207) 287-5220.

When registering either by telephone or email, please be sure to include your full name, telephone number, and which course, date and location you are signing up for.