Thursday, July 30, 2020
Contact: Kristen Schulze Muszynski
o: 207-626-8404/ c: 441-7638

Secretary Dunlap announces results of ballot recount for Senate District 8

AUGUSTA — A recount of ballots cast has been completed for the Republican primary race for State Senate in District 8, Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap announced today.

The final recount tabulation shows that candidate Kimberly C. Rosen is the winner of the primary election, with 2,082 votes, while candidate Lawrence E. Lockman has 2,030 votes.

Rosen will appear on the Nov. 3, 2020 General Election ballot as the Republican candidate for Senate District 8.

Senate District 8 includes Bradley, Brewer, Bucksport, Burlington, Castine, Clifton, Dedham, East Central Penobscot Unorganized Territory, Eddington, Great Pond, Holden, Lincoln, Lowell, Northwest Hancock Unorganized Territory, T32 MD Township, Orland, Orrington, Penobscot, Verona Island, and part of East Hancock Unorganized Territory.

Unofficial preliminary results showed Lockman and Rosen with a 60-vote difference: 2,024 votes and 2,084 votes, respectively.

Recounts are a public proceeding in which the representatives of each candidate and staff members from the Department of the Secretary of State manually review each ballot to determine the official vote tally. The recount began at 1 p.m. today, Thursday, July 30, in Room 103A-B of the Burton M. Cross State Office Building in Augusta and concluded at 5:40 p.m.

Results of the recount will be posted on the Maine Department of the Secretary of State website and social media accounts.