Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2020
Contact: Kristen Schulze Muszynski

Secretary Dunlap nominates McBrien for State Archivist

AUGUSTA – Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap announced today that he is nominating Katherine McBrien for the position of Maine State Archivist.

McBrien recently worked as chief curator at the Maine Historical Society and previously as curator of historic collections at the Maine State Museum. She has worked at museums and historical societies throughout her career and holds a master’s degree in Museum Studies and a bachelor’s degree in British history.

McBrien is familiar with the Maine State Archives from her work gathering information for museum exhibits. She is also experienced with administrative processes, budgeting, and the legislative process.

“Kate’s experience with Maine history and public engagement will be an asset to the Archives as we continue to share our State’s archival treasures with researchers near and far,” said Secretary Dunlap. “Her administrative skills will be indispensable as our archivists continue implementing best practices in the constantly evolving world of digital documents. I am confident that Maine’s history will be properly preserved and shared under her leadership as overseer of the State of Maine’s archival records.”

Secretary Dunlap submitted his nomination of McBrien to the Maine Legislature for consideration today. Members of the Joint Standing Committee on State and Local Government will review the nomination and make their recommendation to the Senate. If confirmed, McBrien is expected to begin working in the position in February.

The Maine State Archives, a bureau within the Department of Secretary of State, maintains approximately 95 million pages of official State records considered to be permanently valuable.

The State Archivist is nominated by the Secretary of State and is subject to confirmation by the Maine State Senate for a six-year term, per Maine law. Maine has had only three State archivists since the Legislature created the Archives in 1965: Sam S. Silsby Jr., James Henderson and David R. Cheever.