Maine Library Commission

The Library Commission, a 17-member board appointed by the Governor, is broadly representative of the state's library community. The Commission establishes the policies and operations of the State Library, gives advice and makes recommendations on the expenditure of state and federal funds, and establishes guidelines and policies for statewide library programs. Composition of the Maine Library Commission is defined in MRSA 27, Section 111.

Commission Guidance

COVID-19 Prevention Checklist – Public Library Guidance: originally published May 18, Updated on April 20, 2021.

Public Library Standards

Commission Rule Regarding Responsibilities of Public Libraries

Maine State Library Commission Membership
Seat # Representation Name Town Email
1 Public Library Heidi Grimm (Chair) Yarmouth
2 K-12 School Library Andrew Wallace Portland
4 Special/Institutional Library Wynter Giddings Westbrook
8 Public Representation At-Large Heather K. Perkinson Brunswick
9 Public Representation At-Large Rita P. Bouchard Gardiner  
15 Library Trustee Jane Padham Ouderkirk Solon
17 Permanent Non-Voting, Director of Area Reference and Resource Center Ben Treat Bangor
18 Public Library Mamie Anthoine Ney (Vice Chair) Kennebunk
18 Permanent Non-Voting, Director of Area Reference and Resource Center Sarah Campbell Portland
19 K-12 School Library Heather Chalmers Fayette
20 Large University Library Bryce Cundick Farmington
21 Small College Library Krystie Wilfong Lewiston
22 Community College Library Judith Moreno Auburn
23 Representative of People with Disabilities VACANT
24 Liaison to Maine Library Advisory Council Darby Kathleen Ray Lewiston
25 Representative of Underserved and Rural Areas Andrea DeBiase Carrabassett Valley
26 Representative of Native American Community VACANT