

# State of Maine Workers' Compensation Board FORMS TRAINING MINI-MANUAL

The general mission of the Maine Workers' Compensation Board is to serve the employees and employers of the State fairly and expeditiously by ensuring compliance with the workers' compensation laws, ensuring the prompt delivery of benefits legally due, promoting the prevention of disputes, utilizing dispute resolution to reduce litigation and facilitating labor-management cooperation.

#### **Disclaimer**

This document was prepared as a supplement to the training and outreach efforts and programs of the Maine Workers' Compensation Board, and for use solely in those training programs. Its purpose is simply to address some of the more common misunderstandings, errors, and ambiguities encountered by employers, insurers, claims adjusters, administrators, and employees of the Board in the course of their duties. It addresses the more common forms and appendices.

This document is not in any way meant to replace or be a substitute for the Board's Forms Manual, nor is it in any way meant to be a source of legal advice or opinion.

The full Forms and Petitions Manual, as well as Maine WC Law, Rules, blank forms, WC Board newsletters, Compliance Reports, training modules, and other Board information may be found online at <a href="https://www.maine.gov/wcb">www.maine.gov/wcb</a>.

My contact information is below. Please feel free to contact me with any comments, questions or other inquiries.

Amanda DiPietro
Director of Audits
Maine Workers' Compensation Board
27 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
Tel 207-287-6327

Amanda.DiPietro@maine.gov

MAI	NE WORKERS' COMI	PENSATION BC	OARD FORMS R	EFERENCE GUIDE
BOAI	RD FORM	STATUTES	RULES	FILING REQUIREMENTS
WCB-1	First Report of Injury	\$303	1.7 3.1 3.4 8.13 8.16	Filed electronically within 7 days notice/knowledge of incapacity.
WCB-2*	Wage Statement	\$153(4) \$205(8) \$303	1.7	Filed within 30 days notice/knowledge of a claim for compensation.
WCB-2B	Fringe Benefits Worksheet	§303	1.7 8.9	Filed within 30 days notice/knowledge of a claim for compensation.
WCB-3*	Memorandum of Payment	§153(1)(B) §205(7)	1.1 1.7 8.12	Filed within 14 days notice/knowledge of a claim for incapacity or death benefits.
WCB-4D*	Discontinuance of Compensation	\$205(9)(A)	1.7 8.11 8.12	Filed within 14 days after benefits are discontinued pursuant to 39-A M.R.S.A. \$205(9)(A).
WCB-4M*	Modification of Compensation	§205(9)(A)	1.7 8.11 8.12	Filed within 14 days after benefits are reduced pursuant to 39-A M.R.S.A. \$205(9)(A).
WCB-4A	Consent Between Employer and Employee		8.18	Filed when the parties have agreed to a voluntary payment of a retroactive closed-end period of incapacity, or a modification or discontinuance in ongoing weekly incapacity benefits.
WCB-8*	Certificate of Discontinuance or Reduction of Compensation	\$205(9)(B)(1)	1.7 8.15	Filed via certified mail no later than 21 days prior to the effective date of the discontinuance or reduction of benefits. pursuant to 39-A M.R.S.A. §205(9)(B)(1).
WCB-9	Notice of Controversy	§313(1)	1.1 1.7 3.4 8.2 8.12	Filed electronically within 14 days of claim for incapacity or death benefits.
* Forms Revised F	Statement of Compensation Paid		1.7 8.1 8.12	Filed within 195 days from the date of injury when indemnity benefits are paid and annually on the anniversary date of the injury subsequent to that. Final report when no further benefits are anticipated.

<sup>\*</sup> Forms Revised Effective 4-1-25

#### EMPLOYER'S FIRST REPORT OF OCCUPATIONAL INJURY OR DISEASE

1. WCB FILE NUMBER (if known):

1a. OSHA 300 CASE NUMBER (if applicable)

	RI	EASON FOR REI	PORT (c	check all that apply)			
2a. · LOST TIME - ONE OR MORE DAYS	2b. WAS EMPLOYEE PAID	FOR 1/2 DAY OR M	ORE ON	DAY OF INJURY? · Y	ES · NO		
3. · LOST EARNINGS BUT NO LOST TIME	4. • MEDICAL/HEALTH C	ARE		5. • FATALITY	DATE OF DEATH:	/ / M DD YYYY	
6a. · OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE	6b. DATE OF LAST EXPOS	6b. DATE OF LAST EXPOSURE: / / MM DD YYYY 6c. DATE OF DIAGNOSIS AS OCCUPATIONALLY RELATED: / / MM DD YYYY					/ / MM DD YYYY
7a. · CORRECT PRIOR REPORT	7b. DATE OF CORRECTION				ECTION SENT TO WO		
			MPLOY	FR			
8. STATE EMPLOYER UNEMPLOYMENT	9. FEDERAL EMPLOYER II				10. EMPLOYER NA	ME:	
INSURANCE ACCOUNT NUMBER (UIAN):			,	,			
11. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS:	12. CITY:		13	S. STATE:	14. ZIP:	15. TELEPHONE NUMBE	R:
						( )	
16. PRIMARY BUSINESS PERFORMED BY EMPLOYER WHERE INJURY OCCURRED:	17. EMPLOYER LOCATION MAILING ADDRESS:	I IF DIFFERENT FRO	DM		IE AND PHYSICAL AD	EMPLOYER'S PREMISE DRESS OF THE EMPLOY	ES? • YES • NO ER WHERE THE EMPLOYEE
(check one) INSURER		THIRD PARTY A	DMINIS	STRATOR (TPA)		SELF-ADMINIS	TERED EMPLOYER
19. INSURANCE/TPA COMPANY NAME:	20. POLICY NUMBER:				21. INSURER FILE	NUMBER:	
22. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS:	23. CITY:		24. STA	TE:	25. ZIP:	26. TELEPHONE NUI	MBER:
			MPLOY	CC			
27. LAST NAME:	28. FIRST NAME:	29. M		D. TELEPHONE NUMBER:	31. SOCIAL SECUR	TV NI IMRER:	32. GENDER:
ZI. LAST NAIVIL.	20. TIKOT WAIVIE.	25. 101	(	)	XXX-XX		· MALE · FEMALE
33. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS:	34. CITY:	I	35	5. STATE:	36. ZIP:	37. DATE OF BIRTH	1:
						MM DD YYYY	
38. OCCUPATION/JOB TITLE:	39. DATE OF HIRE:	40. WEEKI	Y WAGE	AT TIME OF INJURY:	41. DOES EMPLOYE • YES • NO	E WORK FOR ANOTHER IF YES, GIVE NAME AN	
	MM DD YYYY	\$			120 110	ii 120, OIVE IVIII 7	AD ADDINESS.
		CLAIM	INFOR	MATION			
42. DATE OF INJURY OR ILLNESS: 43. DA	TE OF INCAPACITY: 44	I. TIME EMPLOYEE	BEGAN V	WORK (e.g. 7:30 a.m.):	45. DATE EMP	LOYER NOTIFIED INSUF	RER/TPA:
/ / MM DD YYYY	/ / M DD YYYY				/ / MM DD	VVVV	
	46	. TIME OF INJURY	(e.g. 1:10	) p.m.):	==	OYEE RETURNED TO W	ORK? · YES · NO
DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED: DA	TE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED:				IF YES	S, GIVE DATE: /	/ D YYYY
MM DD YYYY MI	M DD YYYY					MIM DI	אזזז ע
48. SPECIFIC INJURY OR ILLNESS (e.g. second degree burn or toxic hepatitis):	49. BODY PART(s) AFFE	CTED (e.g. lower rig	ht forea	rm):			MICALS EMPLOYEE WAS acetylene torch, metal plate):
51. SPECIFY ACTIVITY THE EMPLOYEE WAS EN OCCURRED (e.g. cutting metal plate for flooring		SUBSTANC	ES THAT		MADE THE EMPLOYEE	ILL. (e.g. worker steppe	CLUDE ANY OBJECTS OR d back to inspect work and
WAS ACTIVITY PART OF NORMAL JOB DUTIES	S? · YES · NO						
53. HOSPITALIZED OVERNIGHT AS INPATIENT?	54. WAS THE EMPLOYEE IN AN EMERGENCY ROO		ALTH CA	RE PROVIDER NAME:	56. MAILING ADDRE	SS:	57. TELEPHONE NUMBER:
· YES · NO	· YES · NO	191:					( )
			P	DIMATION			
50 DDEDADED MAME AND THE COORSE	NIT).	T		ORMATION		CO. DATE CENT TO INC.	2D.
58. PREPARER NAME AND TITLE (TYPE OF PRI	N I ).	59. TELEPH	ONE NUM )	IBEK:		60. DATE SENT TO WO	/ /

#### First Report of Injury (FROI) - WCB-1

**<u>DUE DATE</u>** - file electronically within seven days of notice/knowledge of a work-related injury which has caused the employee to lose a day's work.

**Box 2b - Was employee paid for ½ day on day of injury?** - Make sure this is accurate! It affects the calculation of the waiting period, compensability, and indemnity benefits. (If paid for ½ day or more, the date of injury is NOT a compensable day of incapacity).

#### Box 42 - Date of injury or illness

- Date of injury date accident occurred (traumatic injury) or date of last exposure (cumulative injury or occupational disease).
- Date employer notified the date the employer had notice or knowledge of the injury.

#### **Box 43 - Date of incapacity**

- Date of incapacity first day qualifying as a day of incapacity/disability in the first period of incapacity/disability.
- Date employer notified date that the employer had notice or knowledge of the work-related incapacity/disability in the first period or incapacity/disability. In the case of sporadic incapacity, enter the date that the employer had notice or knowledge of a day or more collectively lost from work.

**Box 45 - Date employer notified insurer/TPA** - Earliest date insurer or administrator had notice of the injury from any source. (For most filing/payment deadlines, the day employer had notice or knowledge starts the clock ticking regardless of when insurer/administrator was notified).

**Box 47 - Has employee returned to work?** - Must report "yes" or "no" if Box 2a is checked (there is lost time). If days lost are less than or equal to 7, the actual RTW date must be reported within 7 days of RTW with FROI 02 transaction. Not required if more than 7 days lost.

- Typical TE's Employer physical address contains P.O. Box, FEIN problem, addresses don't match.
- The paper copy to the employee must be materially the same as the one filed EDI with the Board.
- Employers must report ALL injuries, including medical only injuries to their insurer.

		21	SIAIE HU	USE 317	ATION, AUGU	SIA, MAINE 0433	3-UUZ <i>1</i>		
1. REVISION DATE  / MM DD	/		<b>WAGE STATEMENT</b>					2. WCB FILE (REQUIRED	
					EMPLOYEE				
3. EMPLOYEE LAS	T NAME:		4. FIRST NAM	IE:		5. Ml.:	6. SOCIAL S	SECURITY NUMBE X-	R (last 4 digits):
7. STREET/P.O. BO	X MAILING ADDRE	SS:	8. CITY:	8. CITY: 9. STATE:				11. HOME	PHONE NUMBER:
12. DATE OF INJUR	RY:		13. SPECIFIC	INJURY OR	ILLNESS:		14. BODY F	PART(S) AFFECTED	):
/	/							, ,	
MM	DD YYYY				MPLOYER/INSU	DED			
15. INSURER FILE	NUMBER:		16. EMPLOYE		MIPLOTENINGO	17. EMPLOYER MAILING	ADDRESS A	AND PHONE NUMB	ER:
18. INSURER NAME	<b>≣</b> :		19.INSURER	MAILING AD	DRESS AND PHON	E NUMBER:			
20. DOES EMPLOY	EE WORK CONCU	RRENTLY	? YES		NO IF YE	ES, A WAGE STATEMENT	MUST BE S	UBMITTED FOR EA	CH EMPLOYER
NAME(S) OF EMPL	OYERS:			:	_	:			
TWINE(O) OF EINE	OTENO			,		,			
21. DOES EMPLOY IF YES: THE AVERA						COMPENSATION? TS CEASE (SEE RULE 1.	5(2))	YES	□ NO
22. METHOD OF C	ALCULATION:	10	)2(4)(A) – SALA	RIED		102(4)(C) – SEASONAL \	NORKER		
		10	02(4)(B) – VARY	ING WAGES		102(4)(D) – OTHER*			
* NOTE: IF WAGES EXPLANATION OF					MUST SUBMIT COM	IPARABLE WAGES WITH	THIS FILING	AND PROVIDE A	DETAILED
23. LIST GRO									
WK	WEEK ENDING		EARNINGS	WK	WEEK ENDING	GROSS EARNINGS	WK	WEEK ENDING	GROSS EARNINGS
1				19			37		
2				20			38		
3				21			39		
4				22			40		
5				23			41		
6				24			42		
7				25			43		
8				26			44		
9				27			45		
10				28			46		
11				29			47		
12				30			48		
13				31			49		
14				32			50		
15				33			51		
16				34			WK OF INJURY		
17				35			24. TOTAL EARNIN		
18				36			25. GROSS	AVERAGE	
26. COMMENTS:		I		I	I	I	I VVCERL	Y WAGE \$	
27. PREPARER'S F	ULL NAME (REQUI	RED):			HONE NUMBER (RI	EQUIRED):	29. DATE S	SENT TO WCB:	
E-MAIL ADDRESS (	(REQUIRED):			( ) TOLL-FRE	E NUMBER:			// MM DD	YYYY

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711. WCB-2 (effective 04/01/2025)

#### Wage Statement - WCB-2

<u>DUE DATE</u> - Within 30 days of notice/knowledge of a claim for compensation. (Box 22 of the MOP or Box 22 of the NOC).

**Box 20 - Concurrent employer** - Obtain separate wage statements for each employer. The employer for whom the employee worked at the time of injury is required to obtain and file the WCB-2(s) from the other employer(s). A concurrent employer is one who the employee had an employment relationship with at the time of the injury, whether or not they were actually working for them.

**Box 21 - Fringe benefits** - added to AWW only if discontinued during incapacity. Per Rule 1.5(2)(B), the AWW must be recalculated when fringe benefits cease. Form WCB-2B, Fringe Benefits Worksheet, must also be filed whether "yes" or "no" is checked.

#### Box 22 - Method of Calculation

- 102(4)(A) earnings are generally the same each week
- 102(4)(B) omit week of hire and/or week of injury if either or both reduce AWW. (Include any omitted weeks in Box 24, just omit from your calculation and note in Box 26.)
- 102(4)(C) Employer must be a seasonal employer. Must use prior calendar years earnings.
- 102(4)(D) Must submit at least two comparables and provide a detailed explanation of calculation in the comment box.

#### Box 23 - Gross wages for each week

- Must be actual earnings, estimates are not accepted.
- If the employee is paid on other than a weekly basis, the form may be filled out on that basis (bi- weekly, monthly, etc.). However, actual earnings should be shown for the week of hire and week of injury, as well as any weeks with NO earnings.
- Include reported tips for tipped employees.
- Use payroll week ending dates, not check issue dates.
- Must be completed even if worksheet attached.
- Week 52 is the week that includes the injury; work backward to week 1.
- Include all weeks, even if there are no earnings. Do not go back more than 52 weeks.

**Box 24-Total earnings** -This must be the total of all earnings for the 52 week period, even if not all are used in calculating the AWW. Please note on Box 26 of the form if you left out any weeks in the AWW calculation (week of injury, for example).

- Please review all wage statements for accuracy.
- Be careful when faxing if it can't be read, it will be returned to you.
- Include preparer name and email address (Box 27).

## **STATE OF MAINE**

	WORKERS 27 STATE HOUSE ST	S' COMPENSATION E	_	M333-0027			
1. REVISION DATE:		ENEFITS WOR			2. WCB FILE NUMBER (if known):		
		EMPLOYEE					
3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:  4. FIRST NAME:  5. MI.:  6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits XXX-XX-							
7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRE	7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS: 8. CITY: 9. STATE: 10. ZIP: 1						
12. DATE OF INJURY:  // / MM DD YYYY	13. SPECIFIC INJURY (	OR ILLNESS:		14. BODY PARTS (S)	AFFECTED:		
		EMPLOYER/INSURER					
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:	16. EMPLOYER NAME:		17. EMPLO	YER MAILING ADDRESS	S AND PHONE NUMBER:		
18. INSURER NAME:	19.INSURER MAILING	ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMB	ER:				
	S REPORTED ARE SUND DOCUMENTATION  Provided	Continues while Employee is out o	UPON		Weekly Cost of Benefits to		
Health Benefits (incl. insurance)	Yes \( \simeq \ No \( \simeq \)	Yes  No			Employer \$		
Dental Insurance	Yes 🗌 No 🗆	Yes \( \simeq \text{No } \simeq \)			\$		
Disability Insurance (incl. short and long term)	Yes □ No □	Yes □ No □			\$		
401K	Yes □ No □	Yes □ No □			\$		
Life Insurance	Yes 🗆 No 🗆	Yes □ No □					
					\$		
Education/Training	Yes □ No □	Yes 🗆 No 🗆			\$		

22. TELEPHONE NUMBER (REQUIRED): 21. TYPE OR PRINT PREPARER NAME (REQUIRED): 23. DATE MAILED: E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED): The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: (888) 801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.

WCB-2B (eff. 9/1/2020)

Yes ☐ No ☐

Yes □ No □

\$

\$

Yes  $\square$  No  $\square$ 

Yes □ No □

Other (please list):

Other (please list):

#### Fringe Benefits Worksheet - WCB-2B

<u>DUE DATE</u> - Within 30 days of notice/knowledge of a claim for compensation. (Box 22 of MOP or Box 22 of NOC.)

**Box 20 - Fringe benefits** - Provide the cost of the fringe benefit paid by the employer as of the employee's date of injury if the employee was receiving the benefit on their date of injury (see Rule 1.5.1). NOTE: the amounts reported are subject to verification by the employee and their representative and documentation must be provided upon request.

- The WCB-2B is required to accompany ALL Wage Statements (WCB-2) filed on or after 1/1/2013, regardless of date of injury. A WCB-2B is required to be filed for concurrent employers, as well as the employer of injury.
- Any benefit checked as "yes" in the "provided" column must also be checked "yes" or "no" in the "continues" column and have a dollar amount in the "weekly cost" column, or a percentage in the case of a 401(k).
- Benefits calculated based on AWW including lost fringe benefits are subject to a
  maximum rate of 2/3 the SAWW at the time of injury. If benefits based on AWW without
  lost fringes are higher, pay the higher amount.
- Per change effective 9/1/18 to Rule 1.5.1.A.3, inclusion of 401(k), 403(b) and equivalent plans ends when the employee returns to work.

MEMORANDUM OF PAYMENT   (FEGURED)		STATE HOUSE S	STATION, AUG	USIA,	MAINE U	1333-0027		
1. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME	1.REVISION DATE:  MM DD YYYY	MEMO	RANDUM OF	PAY	MENT			
7. STREETP O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS: 8. CTY: 9. STATE: 10. ZIP: 11. HOME PHONE NUMBER: 12. DATE OF BULRY: 13. SPECIFIC INJURY OR ILLIESS: 14. BODY PARTIS) AFFECTED: 15. STATE: 10. ZIP: 11. HOME PHONE NUMBER: 15. INSURER NAME: 15. SALE OF BULRY: 17. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: 16. INSURER NAME: 15. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: 17. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:			EMPLOYEE					
15. INSURER PILE NUMBER:  16. EMPLOYER NAME:  17. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  18. INSURER NAME:  18. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  19. VOUR CLUMPARY SAMENT (PAYMENT PHONE HIT SOUTH PREJUDICE):  19. VOUR CLUMPARY SAMENT (PAYMENT PHONE HIT SOUTH PREJUDICE):  19. VOUR CLUMPARY SAMENT (PAYMENT PRESUANT TO RULE 11 AND \$203):  19. AND THE FOLLOWING REASON:  19. VOUR CLUMPARY SAMENT (PAYMENT PRESUANT TO RULE 11 AND \$203):  19. AND THE FOLLOWING REASON:  19. VOUR CLUMPARY SAMENT (PAYMENT PRESUANT TO RULE 11 AND \$203):  19. AND THE FOLLOWING REASON:  19. AND THE FOLLOWING REASON:  10. THE	3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:	4. FIRST NAME:			5. MI.:		RITY NUMBER (last 4 digits):	
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER  16. EMPLOYER NAME:  17. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  18. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  18. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  19. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  19. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  19. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE  20. YOUR CAMPLOYERINSURER IS REQUIRED TO FILE THIS FORM UPON MAKING THE FIRST PAYMENT OF COMPENSATION FOR INCAPACITY, PAYMENT IS MADE FOR THE FOLLOWING REASON:  10. YOUR CAMPLOY PAYMENT INFORMATION TO PREJUDICE.  11. THIS IS A MANDATORY PAYMENT PRESIDANT TO FOLIDE 11. AND \$208(2):  12. PAYMENT FROM (DATE CLAIM MADE)  21. PAYMENT TYPE:  22. PAYMENT TYPE:  23. PAYMENT TYPE:  24. DATE CHECK AMOUNT (AFTER OFFISETS):  25. AVERAGE WEERLY WAGE:  26. BENEFIT TYPE:  27. NET CHECK AMOUNT (AFTER OFFISETS):  27. AVER CHECK AMOUNT REDUCED FOR (OFFISETS):  28. APPORTHONMENT (§352)  29. PAYMENT (§353)  20. DEABBLITY MISTRANCE (§322 (S)A/32/3))  29. EMPLOYER VURBED PENSION (§221)  20. DEABBLITY MISTRANCE (§322 (S)A/32/3))  20. DEABBLITY MISTRANCE (§322 (S)A/32/3))  20. DEABBLITY MISTRANCE (§322 (S)A/32/3))  21. SETTING ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  20. DEABBLITY MISTRANCE (SS22 (S)A/32/3)  21. SETTING BAY FOR PORTHONMENT CLAIM, REASE COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING:  21. OTHER RESITED ON SETTING  22. COMMENTS:  23. DETERMINED FOR ORDERS (REQUIRED):  24. DATE CHECK AMOUNT (AFTER MENT (S22 (S)A/32/3))  25. DATE (SEPTING)  26. DATE (SEPTING)  27. AVER CHECK AMOUNT (AFTER OFFISES)  28. PREPARER (SIDLE AND ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  29. PREPARER (SIDLE AMOUNT (AFTER MENT (S22 (S)A/32/3))  20. PREPARER (SIDLE AMOUNT (AFTER MENT (S22 (S)A/32/3))  21. DATE SE	7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS:	8. CITY:			9. STATE:	10. ZIP:	11. HOME PHONE NU	IMBER:
EMPLOYERINSURER    16. EMPLOYER NAME:   15. INSURER MALENG ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:   17. EMPLOYER MALLING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:   18. INSURER MALENG ADDRESS AND	12. DATE OF INJURY:	13. SPECIFIC INJURY	OR ILLNESS:			14. BODY PART(	S) AFFECTED:	
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:  16. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  17. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  18. INSURER NAME:  19. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE  NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE SATION FOR INCAPACITY IN THE DATE OF INCAPACITY IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE DATE OF INCAPACITY IN THE EMPLOYEE SWEEKLY COMPENSATION PARTIAL INCAPACITY (5212)  NOTICE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY IN THE EMPLOYEE SWEEKLY COMPENSATION PARTIAL INCAPACITY (5212)  NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE SWEEKLY WAGE:  27. NET CHECK AMOUNT (AFTER OFFSETS):  NOTICE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY IN THE EMPLOYEE SWEEKLY COMPENSATION PARTIAL INCAPACITY (5212)  NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE SWEEKLY COMPENSATION PARTIAL INCAPACITY (5212)  PARTIAL INCAPAC	//							
16. INSURER NAME:  10. INSURER MAILING ADÖRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE  20. YOUR EMP, OYERINGURER IS REQUIRED TO FILE THIS FORM UPON MAKING THE FIRST PAYMENT OF COMPENSATION FOR INCAPACITY, PAYMENT IS MADE FOR THE FOLLOWING REASON:  YOUR CLAIMI IS ACCEPTED  THIS IS A MANDATORY PAYMENT (PAYMENT WITHOUT PREJUDICE)  THIS IS A MANDATORY PAYMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 1: A MAD (2005)  THIS IS A MANDATORY PAYMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 1: AND (2005)  AMOUNT PAID \$  72. PAYMENT FROM LATE CLAIM MADE)  MID TYPY  22. PAYMENT TYPE  PAYMENT FROM LATE CLAIM MADE  AT THE WAITING PERIOD WAS ME!  23. AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE:  24. BENEFIT TYPE:  PARTIAL INCAPACITY (§212)  APPORTHONMENT (§384)  APPORTHONMENT (§384)  APPORTHONMENT (§384)  BANDON  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  COMPENSATION MAY  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IN AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IN AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IN AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  BANDON  AUGUSTA  ASSISTANCE IN AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S RE	==		EMPLOYER/INSU	JRER				
NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE  20. YOUR EMPLOYERINSURER IS REQUIRED TO FILE THIS FORM UPON MAKING THE FIRST PAYMENT OF COMPENSATION FOR INCAPACITY. PAYMENT IS MADE FOR THE FOLLOWING BEASON  YOUR CLAIM IS ACCEPTED  THIS IS A VICLUITARY PAYMENT (PAYMENT WITHOUT PREJUDICE)  THIS IS A VICLUITARY PAYMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 11. AND \$20(5)(2)  AMOUNT PAID \$  PAYMENT FROM (DATE CLAIM MADE)  MI DO YVYY  PAYMENT THOM (DATE CLAIM MADE)  WEEKLY COMPENSATION  SPECIFIC LOSS:  WEEKLY COMPENSATION  SPECIFIC LOSS:  WEEKS  SALARY CONTINUATION  OTHER (EXPLAIN):  DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY:  MM DO YVYY  AFTER WAITING PERIOD WAS MET.  MM DO YVYY  DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY:  MM DO YVYY  AND VYYY  AND VYYY  MM DO YVYY  MM DO YVYY  DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY:  MM DO YVYY  MM DO YVY	15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:					ER MAILING ADD	RESS AND PHONE NUMBER	ξ:
PATHER TYPE:	18. INSURER NAME:	19.INSURER MAILING	3 ADDRESS AND PHO	NE NUMI	BER:			
THIS FOLLOWING REASON		1	NOTICE TO EMP	LOYEE				
WEEKLY COMPENSATION   SPECIFIC LOSS:WEEKS   SALARY CONTINUATION   DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY:	THE FOLLOWING REASON:  YOUR CLAIM IS ACCEPTED  THIS IS A VOLUNTARY PAYMENT (PAYMEN  THIS IS A MANDATORY PAYMENT PURSUA	NT WITHOUT PREJUDI NNT TO RULE 1.1 AND	CE) §205(2) AMOUN	T PAID \$			_	<i></i>
WEEKLY COMPENSATION   SPECIFIC LOSS:   WEEKS   SALARY CONTINUATION   D YYYY   DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY:   MM   DD YYYY   DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY:   MM   DD YYYY   MM   DD YYYY   DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF INCAPACITY:   MM   DD YYYY   DAY	21. PAYMENT TYPE:	22. FIRST DAY OF C	OMPENSABILITY	23. DAT	E OF INCAPA	CITY:	24. DATE CHECK I	MAILED:
\$	☐ SALARY CONTINUATION	MM DD YYYY  DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED			OTIFIED OF INCAP	/ /	<del>7</del> 7	
PARTIAL INCAPACITY (§213)   THIS AMOUNT IS EQUAL TO THE EMPLOYEE'S WEEKLY COMPENSATION RATE MINUS OFFSETS REPORTED IN BOX 27A.   THIS AMOUNT IS EQUAL TO THE EMPLOYEE'S WEEKLY COMPENSATION RATE MINUS OFFSETS REPORTED IN BOX 27A.   VARYING   VARY	25. AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE:	26. BENEFIT TYPE:		27. NET	CHECK AMO	UNT (AFTER OFF	SETS):	
APPORTIONMENT (§354)	\$	PARTIAL INC	APACITY (§213)	THIS A	MOUNT IS EC	QUAL TO THE EMP		ISATION
OTHER DATE(S) OF INJURY INVOLVED:	□ APPORTIONMENT (§354) □ DISABILITY INSURANCE (§§221(3)(A)(2)-( □ EARNINGS FROM SAME EMPLOYER □ EMPLOYER FUNDED PENSION (§ 221(3)(	\$3))		THIRD P UNEMPL WAGE C	ARTY LIABILI OYMENT CO ONTINUATIO	TY (§107) MPENSATION (§22 N PLAN (§221(3)(A	\$ 20) \$ )(2)) \$	
OTHER DATE(S) OF INJURY INVOLVED:	27B. IF THIS IS AN APPORTIONMENT CLAIM. PLE	ASE COMPLETE THE F	FOLLOWING:					
ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES:  AUGUSTA  442 CIVIC CTR. DRIVE, STE 225  396 GRIFFIN RD, STE 105  156 STATE HOUSE STATION  BANGOR, ME  AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156  04401-5638  (207) 287-2308  (207) 287-2308  1-800-400-6854  29. PREPARER'S FULL NAME (REQUIRED):  AUGUSTA, ME 04304-400-6856  30. TELEPHONE NUMBER (REQUIRED):  (0)  TOLL-FREE NUMBER:  31. DATE SENT TO WCB:	OTHER DATE(S) OF INJURY INVOLVED: OTHER INSURER(S) INVOLVED:							
AUGUSTA 442 CIVIC CTR. DRIVE, STE 225 396 GRIFFIN RD, STE 105 156 STATE HOUSE STATION BANGOR, ME AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156 04401-5638 CARIBOU, ME 04736 04240-7777 04103 (207) 287-2308 (207) 941-4550 (207) 498-6428 (207) 753-7700 (207) 822-0840 1-800-400-6854 1-800-400-6856 1-800-400-6855 1-800-400-6857 1-800-400-6858 29. PREPARER'S FULL NAME (REQUIRED): 30. TELEPHONE NUMBER (REQUIRED): 31. DATE SENT TO WCB:	28. COMMENTS:							
TOLL-FREE NUMBER:	AUGUSTA  442 CIVIC CTR. DRIVE, STE 225 396 G  156 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156 (207) 287-2308	BANGOR RIFFIN RD, STE 105 BANGOR, ME 04401-5638 (207) 941-4550	CARIBOL ONE VAUGHI 43 HATCH DR, S CARIBOU, ME (207) 498-64 1-800-400-6	N PL STE 110 04736 128 355	36 M LE (2 1-	LEWISTON MOLLISON WAY EWISTON, ME 04240-7777 107) 753-7700 800-400-6857	PORTLAND 56 NORTHPORT DE PORTLAND, N 04103 (207) 822-084 1-800-400-688	R, STE 201 ME 40
	E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):		` '	R:		_		

#### Memorandum of Payment - WCB-3

<u>DUE DATE</u> - Within 14 days of notice/knowledge of incapacity or 6 days from Box 22 of MOP (broken period).

**Box 20- Reason for payment** - Be careful about checking 20A! This creates a "compensation scheme" (payment with prejudice), meaning that unless the employee returns to work you cannot reduce or discontinue benefits without an order from the Board.

#### **Box 21-Type of payment**

- If "specific loss" is checked, enter the number of weeks payable.
- If "other" is checked, describe the type of payment, e.g. Permanent Impairment (pre-1993).

#### Box 22 - First day of compensability

- The date that the employee was incapacitated beyond the waiting period and/or was entitled to indemnity benefits (sometimes referred to as "day 8").
- Complete if current incapacity is subject to 7 day waiting period or employee is a firefighter. Need not be completed for subsequent periods of incapacity from the same injury.
- For salary continuation, complete as if the employee has lost the wage that is being continued during the time absent, or when the hours missed equals hours in a regular work week.
- For partial incapacity, waiting period may be determined by lost wages (AWW method) or lost benefits (WCR method). Other methods may be acceptable.

#### **Box 23**

**<u>Date of Incapacity</u>** - Initial date disability began as reported on the FROI.

<u>Date Employer Notified of Incapacity</u> - Date employer notified of the incapacity, not the injury. Can not pre-date the date of incapacity above and should match what was reported on the FROI.

**Box 24 - Date check mailed** - Date check is mailed, *not processed*. For salary continuation, date payroll check is mailed/delivered/direct deposited.

#### **Box 27**

- Check the FIXED box if the employee will be paid at a fixed rate (total or partial).
- If fixed rate is selected, enter the dollar amount of the current compensation rate (or the applicable maximum) after offsets.

- For cases involving salary continuation, enter the compensation rate that would otherwise be paid (or the applicable maximum) after offsets.
- Check the PARTIAL box if the employee will be paid at varying rates.

- Must be closed with a discontinuance via a WCB-4D, a WCB-4A, or a WCB-8.
- If a provisional MOP was filed initially and the actual rate is greater than the provisional rate, an amended MOP (WCB-3) must be filed to establish the correct average weekly wage and weekly compensation rate (no MOD required).
- Effective 9/1/18- If a provisional MOP was filed initially and the actual rate is less than the provisional rate, the AWW may be adjusted by filing a MOD ONCE within 90 days from initial lost time payment to correct an error or miscalculation. If it is beyond 90 days, a (21-Day) Certificate of Discontinuance or Reduction of Compensation (WCB-8) must be filed to establish the correct AWW and WCR, and the higher rate paid for the 21 days.
- If the maximum rate is used, enter employee's own rate in the comment section (Box 28).

1. REVISION DATE:					2. WCB FILE NUMBER
MM DD YYYY	DISCONT	INUANCE OF (	COMPENS	SATION	(REQUIRED):
		EMPLOYE			
3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:	4. FIRST NA	ME:	5. MI.:	6. SOCIAL SECURIT	Y NUMBER (last 4 digits):
7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS	8. CITY:		9. STATE:	10. ZIP:	11. HOME PHONE NUMBER:
12. DATE OF INJURY:	13. SPECIFI	C INJURY OR ILLNESS:		14. BODY PART(S)	AFFECTED:
MM DD YYYY		EMPLOYED/INO	UDED		
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:	16. EMPLOY	EMPLOYER/INS	-	FR MAILING ADDRES	SS AND PHONE NUMBER:
	10. 2 20		20 .		
18. INSURER NAME:	19.INSUREF	R MAILING ADDRESS AND PH	ONE NUMBER:		
		NOTICE TO EMP	LOYEE		
20. YOUR BENEFITS ARE BEING DI CONACT THE BOARD AT ONE OF T			BELOW. IF YOU	DISAGREE OR HA	VE QUESTIONS, PLEASE
RETURNED TO WORK FOR SA MEDICAL RELEASE (RULES C	ME EMPLOYER F H. 8, §11(2))	REGULAR / FULL DUTY			R SAME EMPLOYER EARNING AT LY WAGE (§205(9)(A))
☐ AGREEMENT OF THE PARTIES	S / BOARD DECIS	ON (RULES, CH. 8 §12)	☐ LUMP S	SUM SETTLEMENT	
			OTHER		
NOC FILED WITHIN 45 DAYS P	URSUANT TO (§2	05(2)(2))	☐ (EXPLA	IN):	
21. PERIOD OF INCAPACITY: FROM (DATE):		THROUGH (DATE):			CHECK AMOUNT FROM DF PAYMENT OR MOST RECENT
/		MM DD YYY	<u>/Y</u>	\$	
23. TOTAL WEEKLY COMPENSATION	ON PAID FOR THE	PERIOD OF INCAPACITY	IN BOX 21:	24. DATE THE FIN	NAL PAYMENT WAS MAILED:
\$				/	/ <sub>YYYY</sub>
25. COMMENTS:					
ASSISTANCE IS	S AVAILABLE AT	THE MAINE WORKERS' C	OMPENSATION	BOARD'S REGION	IAL OFFICES:
AUGUSTA  442 CIVIC CTR DR, STE 225 156 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156 (207) 287-2308 1-800-400-6854	BANGOR 396 GRIFFIN RD, \$ BANGOR, M 04401-5638 (207) 941-458 1-800-400-68	E 43 HATCH DR CARIBOU, M 50 (207) 498-	HN PL , STE 110 E 04736 6428	LEWISTON 36 MOLLISON WAY LEWISTON, ME 04240-7777 (207) 753-7700 1-800-400-6857	PORTLAND 56 NORTHPORT DR, STE 201 PORTLAND, ME 04103 (207) 822-0840 1-800-400-6858
26. PREPARER'S FULL NAME (REQUIRE	D):	27. TELEPHONE NUMBER (I	REQUIRED):	28. DATE SEN	IT TO WCB:
E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):		( ) TOLL-FREE NUMBER: ( )		/ MM [	DD YYYY

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711. WCB-4D (effective 04/01/2025)

#### **Discontinuance of Compensation - WCB-4D**

<u>DUE DATE</u> - Within 14 days after benefits are discontinued under §205(9)(A) (return to work or an increase in pay with the employer of injury) or §205(9)(B)(2) (order or award of compensation).

#### Box 21 - Period of incapacity

- "From" date should be the same as Box 23a of the MOP.
- "Through" date should be up to and including the last day paid.
- Only one period of incapacity should be entered per form.

Box 22 - Net Weekly Check Amount - Should be the same as MOP Box 27 or MOD Box 24.

**Box 23 - Amount paid** - Total amount paid for this period of incapacity. Do not reduce by any recoveries, and do not include any interest or penalties.

Box 24 - Date final payment mailed - Date last benefit payment was mailed, not processed.

**General** - There must be an actual return to work with the employer of injury to discontinue with a WCB-4D. See change to Rule Chapter 8 Section11(2)(C) regarding what is considered a return to work effective 9/1/18.

1. REVISION DATE:					2. WCB FILE NUMBER	
MM DD YYYY	MOD	IFICATION OF	COMPENSA	ATION	(REQUIRED):	
		EMPL	OYEE			
3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:	4. FIR	ST NAME:	5. MI.:	6. SOCIAL SECUR	ITY NUMBER (last 4 digits):	
7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRE	SS: 8. CIT	Y:	9. STATE:	10. ZIP:	11. HOME PHONE NUMBER:	
12. DATE OF INJURY:	13. SF	PECIFIC INJURY OR ILLNESS		14. BODY PART(S	) AFFECTED:	
MM DD YYYY					, -	
		EMPLOYER				
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:	16. EN	MPLOYER NAME:	17. EMPLO	YER MAILING ADDRI	ESS AND PHONE NUMBER:	
18. INSURER NAME:	19.INS	SURER MAILING ADDRESS A	ND PHONE NUMBER:			
	<u> </u>	NOTICE TO	EMPLOYEE			
20. YOUR EMPLOYER/INSURER YOUR WEEKLY COMPENSATION					Y COMPENSATION PAYMENTS.	
☐ AGREEMENT OF THE PARTIES/BOAR	D DECISION (RULES	CH.8, §12) \$	☐ INCREASED EARNIN	GS WITH SAME EMPLO	YER (§205(9)(A)) \$	
☐ ADJUSTED WAGE/RATE (RULES CH.1	1, §5(2)(C))	\$	☐ MAX RATE INCREAS	E (§211)	\$	
☐ APPORTIONMENT (§354)		\$	☐ PAID TIME OFF (§221	(3)(A)(2))	\$	
☐ CHANGE IN PAYMENT TYPE		\$	☐ RTW WITH SAME EM	PLOYER, MODIFIED DU	TY (§205(9)(A)) \$	
☐ COST OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT		\$	☐ SOCIAL SECURITY R	ETIREMENT (§221(3)(A)		
□ DECREASED EARNINGS WITH SAME EMPLOYER (§205(9)(A)) \$ □ THIRD PARTY LIABILITY (§107) \$						
☐ DISABILITY INSURANCE (§221(3)(A)(2		\$	☐ UNEMPLOYMENT CO		\$	
☐ EMPLOYER FUNDED PENSION (§221)		\$	□ WAGE CONTINUATIO		\$	
	(3)(A)(3))	Φ				
☐ FRINGE BENEFITS (§102(4)(H))		Φ	☐ OTHER (EXPLAIN): _		φ	
21. PAYMENT TYPE:			22. BENEFIT TYPE:			
☐ WEEKLY COMPENSATION			☐ TOTAL INCAPACITY	(8212)		
☐ SPECIFIC LOSS WEE	KS.					
☐ SALARY CONTINUATION			☐ PARTIAL INCAPACIT			
☐ OTHER (EXPLAIN):			☐ FATAL (§215/§355(14	l)(F))		
1 0111211 (274 27414).	1					
23. OLD WEEKLY CHECK AMOUNT:		24. NEW WEEKLY CHECK A	MOUNT:	25. EFFECTIVE	DATE OF MODIFICATION:	
☐ FIXED \$		☐ FIXED \$		/		
☐ VARYING		☐ VARYING		MM I	DD YYYY	
26. COMMENTS:						
ASSISTANC	CE IS AVAILABLE	AT THE MAINE WORKER	DO' COMPENSATION I	DOADD'S DECION	AL OFFICES:	
AUGUSTA	BANG			LEWISTON	PORTLAND	
442 CIVIC CTR DR, STE 225 156 STATE HOUSE STATION	396 GRIFFIN F BANGOI			MOLLISON WAY EWISTON, ME	56 NORTHPORT DR, STE 201 PORTLAND, ME	
AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156	04401-	5638 CARIBOL	J, ME 04736	04240-7777	04103	
(207) 287-2308 1-800-400-6854	(207) 941 1-800-40		498-6428 (2 400-6855	207) 753-7700	(207) 822-0840 1-800-400-6858	
27. PREPARER'S FULL NAME (REQU	IRED):	28. TELEPHONE NUME	BER (REQUIRED):	29. DATE SEN	NT TO WCB:	
				/	·	
E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):		TOLL-FREE NUMBER:		MM [	DD YYYY DO	

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711. WCB-4M (effective 04/01/2025)

#### **Modification of Compensation – WCB-4M**

<u>DUE DATE</u> -Within 14 days after benefits are modified under §205(9)(A) (return to work or an increase in pay with the employer of injury) or §205(9)(B)(2) (order or award of compensation).

**Box 23 - Old weekly check amount** - Rate prior to modification. This should match the new rate on the previously filed modification. If varying, enter "varying."

Box 24 - New weekly check amount - Rate following modification. If varying, enter "varying."

Box 25 - Effective date - Date modification became effective, not the date the check was issued.

- A modification must be filed when the benefit is modified due to a max rate increase.
- Wage continuation plan is not salary continuation.
- Discuss other problem areas in Box 20, especially new items like change in payment type.

#### **STATE OF MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD**

1. REVISION DATE:									
	ONICENT DETME	EN EMPL	OVED AND		2. WCB FILE NUMBER (if known):				
MM DD YYYY	ONSENT BETWE	EN EMPL	JIEK AND	EINIPLOTE	E (II KIIOWII).				
		EMPLOYEE			·				
3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:	4. FIRST NAME:		5. MI.:	6. SOCIAL SEC	CURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits):				
7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS:	8. CITY:		9. STATE:	10. ZIP:	11. HOME PHONE NUMBER:				
12. DATE OF INJURY:	12. DATE OF INJURY: 13. SPECIFIC INJURY OR ILLNESS: 14. BODY PARTS (S) AFFECTED:								
/					(-/				
MM DD YYYY									
		IPLOYER/INSU							
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:	16. EMPLOYER NAME:		17. EMPLO	YER MAILING AD	DRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:				
18. INSURER NAME:	19.INSURER MAILING ADD	RESS AND PHON	IE NUMBER:						
20. TERMS OF CONSENT:									
20A. DATE OF INCAPACITY:	20B. AVERAGE WEEKLY		C. CURRENT WEEK		20D. DOES EMPLOYEE WORK FOR				
		COMPENSATION RATE: TOTAL PARTIAL			ANOTHER EMPLOYER? IF YES, GIVE NAME(S): YES NO				
20E. NEW COMPENSATION RATE:	20F. EFFECTIVE DATE O		G. EFFECTIVE DAT	E OF	20H. AMOUNT PAID:				
	REDUCTION:	l Di	SCONTINUANCE:						
21. BEFORE YOU SIGN THIS FORM, YOU SH	NOTICE TO EMPL	OYEE (Plea	se read and ir	nitial)	AT DIGUTO VOLUME IS VOLUMEN				
THIS FORM. A LIST OF THE BOARD'S RE				TO FIND OUT WE	IAT RIGHTS YOU HAVE IF YOU SIGN				
EMPLOYEE INITIALS:									
THIS FORM SHALL NOT BE USED FOR CASES (9)(B)(2).		CE TO EMPL OF COMPENSAT		SATION SCHEME	WAS ENTERED UNDER SECTION 205				
		CONSENT							
22. WE AGREE TO THE TERMS LISTED IN BO A PAYMENT WITHOUT PREJUDICE, DOE WITHIN CERTAIN TIME LIMITS. THIS FOI EMPLOYER/INSURER OR BY A DULY AU	ES NOT CREATE A PAYMENT RM MUST BE SIGNED BY TH	TAND THAT THIS I SCHEME, AND D IE EMPLOYEE, EM	OES NOT PREVEN	T EITHER PARTY	FROM REOPENING THE CLAIM				
EMPLOYEE SIGNATURE		D	ATE						
EMPLOYEE 'S AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE SIGNATURE (IF APPLICABLE)  DATE									
EMPLOYER/INSURER OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTA	ATIVE SIGNATURE	DA	ATE						
ASSISTANCE IS AV	AILABLE AT THE MAINE	WORKERS' CO	MPENSATION B	OARD'S REGIO	ONAL OFFICES				
AUGUSTA	BANGOR GRIFFIN RD, STE105 BANGOR, ME 43	CARIBOU ONE VAUGHN PL HATCH DR, STE CARIBOU, ME 0473 (207) 498-6428 1-800-400-6855	LEW 36 MOLL 110 LEWIS 36 0424 (207)	ISTON ISON WAY TON, ME -0-7777 753-7700 400-6857	PORTLAND 56 NORTHPORT DR, STE 201 PORTLAND, ME 04103 (207) 822-0840 1-800-400-6858				

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.

24. TELEPHONE NUMBER:

25. DATE MAILED:

WCB-4A (eff. 9/1/20, rev. 12/4/2023)

23. PREPARER NAME AND TITLE (TYPE OR PRINT):

#### Consent Between Employer and Employee - WCB-4A

<u>DUE DATE</u> - No specific due date for the form itself, but payment is due within 10 calendar days after being signed by all parties.

- May be used when the parties have agreed to a voluntary payment of a retroactive closedend period of incapacity, or a modification, reduction or discontinuance in ongoing weekly incapacity benefits.
- Shall not be used to reduce or discontinue benefits on a date subsequent to the date signed.
- Best practice don't sign until the employee signs and returns.
- The parties may agree to the pre-injury average weekly wage or may agree to pay benefits based upon a provisional wage and reserve the issue of the pre-injury average weekly wage for later determination by the Board. In either event, the form shall also indicate whether the employee is receiving 100% of the benefits at issue for the designated period, if the employee is receiving less than 100% of the benefits at issue for the designated period, the form shall indicate the percentage of benefits that the employee is receiving.
- All wage forms are still required to be filed.
- Upon request by any of the parties, the Consent Between Employer and Employee, WCB-4A, shall be reviewed within 14 calendar days by an agent at the Board's regional offices in order to answer any relevant questions prior to the employer and employee signing this form.
- Shall not be used when an order or award is entered under 205(9)(8)(2).
- Signing the WCB-4A does not by itself create a compensation scheme.

1. REVISION DATE:		TE OF DISCON TION PURSUA				I (II KNOWN).		
EMPLOYEE								
3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:	4. FIRST N			5. MI.: 6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits): XXX-XX-				
7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDR	ESS: 8. CITY:			9. STATE:	10. ZIP:	11. HOME PHONE NUMBER:		
12. DATE OF INJURY: //	13. SPECII	FIC INJURY OR ILLNES	SS:	<u> </u>	14. BODY PAR	TS (S) AFFECTED:		
		EMPLO	YER/INSURER					
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:	16. EMPLO	OYER NAME:		17. EMPLOY	ER MAILING AD	DRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:		
18. INSURER NAME:	19.INSURE	ER MAILING ADDRESS	S AND PHONE NUMI	BER:				
NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE  YOUR WEEKLY COMPENSATION BENEFITS WILL BE DISCONTINUED OR REDUCED 21 DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS CERTIFICATE WAS MAILED BASED ON THE ATTACHED INFORMATION. IF YOU DISAGREE WITH THIS ACTION, YOU MAY FILE A PETITION FOR REVIEW AND REQUEST REINSTATEMENT OF YOUR BENEFITS PENDING HEARING, UNDER 39-A M.R.S.A. §205(9)(C). YOUR PETITION AND REQUEST (ON FORM WCB-121) MUST BE MAILED TO THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD ADDRESS ABOVE.								
20. REASON FOR DISCONTINUANCE OR REDUCTION (MUST ATTACH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION):								
			NTINUANCI					
21. PERIOD OF INCAPACITY: FROM (DATE):		22. WEEKLY COM RATE:	IPENSATION	PAID TO D		24. COMPENSATION TO BE PAID FOR 21 DAY PERIOD:		
THROUGH (DAY BEFORE EFFE DISCONTINUANCE):	CTIVE DATE OF							
		RED	DUCTION					
25. OLD COMPENSATION RATE	26.	NEW COMPENSATI			27. EFFECTIV	E DATE OF REDUCTION:		
ASSISTAN AUGUSTA	CE IS AVAILABLE A		RKERS' COMPEN CARIBOU		ARD'S REGIO	NAL OFFICES PORTLAND		
442 CIVIC CTR DR, STE 225 156 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156 (207) 287-2308 1-800-400-6854	396 GRIFFIN RO BANGOR, 04401-56; (207) 941-4 1-800-400-6	, STE 105 ONI ME 43 HA <sup>-</sup> 38 CARI 550 (2	E VAUGHN PL TCH DR, STE 110 IBOU, ME 04736 07) 498-6428 800-400-6855	36 MOL LEWIS 042 (207)	VISTON LISON WAY STON, ME 40-7777 753-7700 -400-6857	56 NORTHPORT DR, STE 201 PORTLAND, ME 04103 (207) 822-0840 1-800-400-6858		
28. TYPE OR PRINT PREPARER	NAME (REQUIRED)	): 	29. TELEPHON	E NUMBER	(REQUIRED):	30. DATE MAILED (MUST MATCH POSTMARK):		
E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):			TOLL-FREE NU	MBER:				

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.

MM DD

YYYY

WCB-8 Effective 04/01/2025

#### (21 DAY) CERTIFICATE OF DISCONTINUANCE OR REDUCTION OF COMPENSATION - WCB-8

Use if benefits are discontinued or reduced for any reason other than those which allow the filing of a WCB-4D unless indemnity is being paid pursuant to an order or award, or compensation scheme.

<u>DUE DATE</u> - File by certified mail no later than 21 days prior to the effective date of the discontinuance or modification.

**Box 20** - Reason for discontinuance - Enter reason and attach supporting documentation.

#### **Box 21** - Period of incapacity

- "From" date should be the same as Box 23 of the MOP.
- "Through" date is the day before the effective date of discontinuance (no earlier than 21 days from Box 30).
- Only one period of incapacity should be entered per form.

**Box 22-WCR** - If more than one rate was used, enter last rate used.

**Box 23- Compensation paid** - Total amount paid or due to the date the form is mailed for the current period of incapacity. This should be a dollar amount. Do not reduce by any recoveries. For salary continuation, do not include amounts paid by the employer.

**Box 24 - Compensation paid for the 21 day period** - Total amount anticipated to be paid for the 21 day notice period. This should be a dollar amount. Note Boxes 23 and 24 should equal the total weekly compensation paid for the period listed in Box 21.

Box 25 - Old compensation rate - Rate prior to modification. If varying, enter "varying."

Box 26 - New compensation rate - Rate following modification. If varying, enter "varying."

**Box 27 - Effective date of reduction** - Date payment for incapacity will be reduced (no earlier than 21 days from Box 30).

- Send certified mail to WCB and employee on date of mailing shown in Box 30.
- Be sure to get post-marked receipts from the post office upon mailing.
- Do not count the day form is mailed in calculating the 21 days. For example, if mailed May 5 (Box 30), add 21 days and use effective date of May 26 in Box 21 or 27.
- A cover letter should accompany the WCB-8 which includes the certified mail number.
- Use form 231-A to take an offset for earnings with a different employer.

	21 STATE HOUSE ST	IATION, AUGUSTA,	WAINE	4333-0027			
1. REVISION DATE:	_	E OF CONTRO			2. WCB FILE NUMBER (if known):		
MM DD YYYY	THIS IS A DENIAL OF YOUR BENEFITS						
		EMPLOYEE					
3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:	4. FIRST NAME:		5. MI.:	6. SOCIAL SECU	JRITY NUMBER (last 4 digits):		
7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRI	ESS: 8. CITY:		9. STATE:	10. ZIP:	11. HOME PHONE NUMBER:		
12. DATE OF INJURY:  MM DD YYYY	13. SPECIFIC INJURY O	R ILLNESS:		14. BODY PART	S (S) AFFECTED:		
		EMPLOYER/INSURER					
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:	16. EMPLOYER NAME:		17. EMPLOY	ER MAILING ADD	RESS AND PHONE NUMBER:		
18. INSURER NAME:	19.INSURER MAILING A	DDRESS AND PHONE NUMB	BER:				
	NOTI	CE TO EMPLOYEE					
IF YOU DISAGREE WIT	S DENYING YOUR WORKERS' COM 'H THIS DENIAL, CONTACT A CLAIM		T AT THE NEA				
<mark>21a.</mark>	FULL DENIAL REASON		21b.	PARTIA	L DENIAL REASON		
			22a.				
			DATE OF I	NITIAL INCAPACI	TY <i>I</i>		
			CURRENT 22b.	DATE OF INCAPA	ACITYI		
FULL DENIAL EFFECTIVE DATE				PLOYER NOTIFIED			
*NOTE: Reasons identified in boxes issues at a later date.	21a or 21b will not preclude a pa	rty from raising additional					
23. COMMENTS:							
24. ANY EMPLOYER OR INSUREF MAY BE OBLIGATED TO PAY PEN OBLIGATION MAY BE DIRECTED	IALTIES AS REQUIRED BY THE	WORKERS' COMPENSA	TION ACT A	AND RULES. QU	ESTIONS PERTAINING TO THIS		
400107411	05 10 AVAII ABI 5 AT THE MAI	NE WORKERS COMPEN	0.471011.00	11000000000	141 0551050		
ASSISTAN  AUGUSTA  442 CIVIC CTR DR, STE 225 156 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156 (207) 287-2308	CE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAI BANGOR 396 GRIFFIN RD, STE 105 BANGOR, ME 04401-5638 (207) 941-4550	CARIBOU ONE VAUGHN PL 43 HATCH DR, STE 110 CARIBOU, ME 04736 (207) 498-6428	36	LEWISTON 5 MOLLISON WAY LEWISTON, ME 04240-7777 (207) 753-7700	PORTLAND		
1-800-400-6854 25. TYPE OR PRINT NAME (REQUIRED	1-800-400-6856	1-800-400-6855 26. TELEPHONE # (REQUIF	RED):	1-800-400-6857	1-800-400-6858 SENT TO WCB:		
E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):		( )		28. DATE R	CVD AT WCB (WCB use only):		

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711. WCB-9 (effective 9/1/2020, revised 12/4/2023)

#### Notice of Controversy - WCB-9

<u>DUE DATE</u> - File electronically within 14 days of notice/knowledge of a claim for incapacity or death benefits. For denial of medical benefits only, file within 30 days of notice/knowledge of claim for medical benefits.

**Box 21a - Full denial reason** - Code 1 through 5 (see Forms Manual). Also enter denial effective date.

**Box 21b - Partial denial reason** - Code A through G (see Forms Manual).

#### Box 22a

- Date of initial incapacity first day qualifying as a day of disability.
- Current date of incapacity first qualifying day of disability in the current period of disability being denied. If the same as above, leave blank.

**Box 22b - Date Employer Notified** – is for the current date of incapacity.

<u>Box 23 - Comments</u> - Use for additional information, explanations, or clarifications. If disability has been intermittent or sporadic, it should be noted here.

- NOC revisions cannot be filed electronically. Must be filed via email, fax, mail or in-hand delivery.
- Original NOCs must be via EDI, paper filings will be discarded, and notice of this action may not be given.
- A NOC cannot change the injury code type for the claim. To do this, a FROI-02 must be filed via EDI.
- A WCB-2 and WCB-2B must be filed within 30 days of employer notice or knowledge (Box 22b).
- If a NOC is filed on a medical only claim and it later becomes a lost time claim, a new NOC must be filed to dispute indemnity.
- If a lost time NOC is filed, it can NOT be revised to medical only, even if there is no lost time. The WCB-2 and WCB-2B must be filed.
- If filed late, benefits must be paid, with credit for earnings and other statutory offsets, from the date the claim was made through the date the NOC is filed (and accepted), and payment made. A mandatory MOP must be filed.
- The copy to the employee must be materially the same as the one filed EDI with the Board (pdf file now being sent with the AKC report).

1. REVISION DATE:						2. WCB FILE NUMBER	
, ,	STATEMENT OF COMPENSATION PAID (if known):						
MM DD YYYY		EM	BI OVEE				
3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:	4. FIRST NAME:	EIVI	PLOYEE	5. MI.:	6. SOCIAL SECU	JRITY NUMBER (last 4 digits):	
					XXX-XX-		
7. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS:	8. CITY:			9. STATE:	10. ZIP:	11. HOME PHONE NUMBER:	
						( )	
12. DATE OF INJURY:	13. SPECIFIC INJURY (	OR ILLNESS	S:		14. BODY PART	S (S) AFFECTED:	
// MMDDYYYY							
		EMPLOY	ER/INSURER				
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER:	16. EMPLOYER NAME:			17. EMPLOY	ER MAILING ADD	RESS AND PHONE NUMBER:	
18. INSURER NAME:	19.INSURER MAILING	ADDRESS A	AND PHONE NUM	BER:			
20. REASON FOR REPORT:							
☐ INTERIM REPORT (ONGOING PAY	MENTS OF ANY KIND)		☐ FINAL REF	PORT (NO F	URTHER PAYM	ENTS ANTICIPATED)	
	PA	YMEN	T SUMMA	RY			
21. LIST CUMULATIVE TOTALS (DO	NOT INCLUDE PEN	ALTY A	MOUNTS):				
MEDICAL TREATMENT		\$	DEATH BEN (NOT TO EXCE		RAL EXPENS	E \$	
WEEKLY COMPENSATION		\$	EMPLOYEE	RELATED	LEGAL EXPE	NSE \$	
PERMANENT IMPAIRMENT (PRE 1993 ONLY)		\$	EMPLOYER	RELATED	LEGAL EXPE	NSE \$	
EMPLOYMENT REHABILITATION		\$	INTEREST A	ND OTHER	R PAYMENTS	\$	
LUMP SUM SETTLEMENT		\$					
		(Do noт	AMOUNT PAI REDUCE THESE RIES, INCLUDING	TOTALS BY	THE AMOUNT OF A	ANY \$	
COMMENTS:							
ASSISTANCE IS A AUGUSTA	VAILABLE AT THE MAI BANGOR		(ERS' COMPEN CARIBOU		ARD'S REGION LEWISTON	AL OFFICES: PORTLAND	
442 CIVIC CTR. DRIVE, STE 225 396 G	RIFFIN RD, STE 105	ONE	VAUGHN PL	36 N	MOLLISON WAY	56 NORTHPORT DR, STE 201	
156 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, ME 04333-0156	BANGOR, ME 04401-5638		CH DR, STE 110 SOU, ME 04736		EWISTON, ME 04240-7777	PORTLAND, ME 04103	
(207) 287-2308 1-800-400-6854	(207) 941-4550 1-800-400-6856	(20	7) 498-6428 00-400-6855	(2	207) 753-7700 800-400-6857	(207) 822-0840 1-800-400-6858	
22. PREPARER'S FULL NAME (REQUIRI			EPHONE NUMB			24. DATE SENT TO WCB:	
·		( )					
E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED):		, ,	REE NUMBER:				
		( )	LL INUIVIDEN.			MM DD YYYY	

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711. WCB-11A Effective 04/01/2025

#### **Statement of Compensation Paid - WCB-11**

#### **DUE DATE -**

- Initial report due within 195 days of date of injury.
- Annual within 15 days of each anniversary date of the injury if payments of any type were made since the previous SOC.
- Final no further payments are anticipated.
- Not required if no indemnity benefits were ever paid.
- Not required if all indemnity paid was salary continuation.

**Box 20 - Reason for report** - Indicate interim (ongoing payments of any kind) or final (no further payments anticipated).

#### **Box 21 - Cumulative totals**

- Do not include any penalty amounts, nor reduce any totals by the amount of any recoveries.
- For salary continuation, do not include amounts paid by the employer.
- Medical Does not include expenses related to managed care services such as utilization review, case management, and bill review, or to exams performed pursuant to \$207 and \$312.
- Weekly Compensation Sum of all indemnity benefits, specific loss benefits, and mandatory indemnity payments. When filing this form as a final, this amount must match the sum of the Amount Paid on all payment forms.
- Permanent Impairment For injuries prior to 1993 only.
- Employment Rehabilitation Employment rehabilitation expenses paid.
- Lump Sum Settlement This amount must match the approved amount on form WCB-10. Include the amount of any Medicare Set-Aside.
- Death Benefit/Funeral Expense Cannot exceed \$7,000.00.
- Legal Expense the sum of all legal expenses paid for the claim separated into employee related and employer related expenses.
- Interest and Other Payments Payments not otherwise reported for this claim, such as surveillance, mileage, expert witness fees, court reporter fees, private investigator fees, medical and other travel costs related to managed care services such as utilization review, case management, and bill review, and exams pursuant to §207 and §312.

<u>General</u> - When amounts decrease, the comment box can indicate the reason. This will limit clarification requests from the Board.

#### Additional resources from the Maine Workers' Compensation Board

You will find many valuable resources on our website, including all Board forms in fillable PDF format, EDI information, laws, rules, newsletters, compliance reports, training modules, benefit tables, fee schedules, and regional office locations.

#### www.Maine.gov/wcb

For more information on our training and outreach programs contact Amanda DiPietro, 207-287-6327, or Amanda.DiPietro@Maine.gov