MOTORCYCLE OR MOPED APPLICATION
***NOT FOR CDL CLASS A, B OR C OPERATORS PERMITS, LICENSES OR WAIVERS***
Written Examination Fee Must Be Included With This Application
	PRINT
	FIRST NAME
	INITIAL
	LAST NAME
	MAILING
ADDRESS
	

	
	
	
	

	EMAIL ADDRESS
	
	
	

	Date of Birth
	Hair Color
	Eye Color
	Height
	Weight
	Gender
	Telephone #
	Social Security Number

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Month Day Year
	
	
	Feet & Inches
	Pounds
	M, F, X (Non-binary)
	
	Required if eligible for SSN

	[bookmark: Check1]|_|
	Motorcycle
	*APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE*

	$35.00
	Applicants under the age eighteen are required to have a completion certificate for both Driver’s Education and the Basic Rider Course (BRC).
All applicants are required to complete a BRC.

	[bookmark: Check26]|_|
	Moped
	*APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE*

	$35.00
	Mopeds may be operated by any person who possesses a valid operator’s license of any class; or who possesses an operator’s license specially endorsed to operate a motorcycle or moped; or a permit for moped operation.

	[bookmark: Check2]|_|
	Oral Examination:
(check box if required)
	If you require an oral examination you may bring your own reader/translator at time of test.
(Literacy or American Sign Language interpreters will be provided  by the 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles upon advance request)

	Maine Organ and Tissue Fund donation:  (   ) $2.00 or (   ) Other ________ (specify amount)

	PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS

	1)
	Place of birth
	YES
	NO

	
	
	City or Town
	State or Country
	
	

	2)
	Are you applying for an instruction permit examination?
	[bookmark: Check3]|_|
	[bookmark: Check4]|_|

	3)
	Have you completed a course in Driver’s Education?
	[bookmark: Check5]|_|
	[bookmark: Check6]|_|

	4)
	Do you hold or have you ever held a valid driver’s license from Maine or any other state, country or province; Class:              Expiration date:                    Where:
	[bookmark: Check7]|_|
	[bookmark: Check8]|_|

	5)
	Have you ever held a Maine instruction permit or Non-driver identification card?
If yes, under what name? (Print)
	[bookmark: Check11]|_|
	[bookmark: Check12]|_|

	6)
	Have you been convicted of violating any motor vehicle laws within the last ten years?
What was the violation                                     Date:                     Where:
	[bookmark: Check9]|_|
	[bookmark: Check10]|_|

	7)
	Is your privilege to operate a motor vehicle under suspension or revocation in this state or any other state or province?
	[bookmark: Check13]|_|
	[bookmark: Check14]|_|

	8)
	Do you have any of the following medical conditions?  (If NO, check box)
	
	[bookmark: Check15]|_|

	[bookmark: Check16]|_| Blackouts/Loss of Consciousness
	[bookmark: Check17]|_| Multiple Sclerosis
	[bookmark: Check18]|_| Sleep Apnea
	[bookmark: Check19]|_| Dementia

	[bookmark: Check20]|_| Narcolepsy/Hypersomnia
	[bookmark: Check21]|_| Hypoglycemia 
	[bookmark: Check22]|_| Limb Amputation
	[bookmark: Check23]|_| Mental Health Condition

	[bookmark: Check24]|_| Musculoskeletal/Neurological
	[bookmark: Check25]|_| Spinal Cord Injury
	|_| Parkinson’s
	[bookmark: Check27]|_| Seizures/Epilepsy

	[bookmark: Check28]|_| Substance Use Disorder
	[bookmark: Check29]|_| Heart Trouble 
	[bookmark: Check30]|_| Stroke/Brain Injury 
	[bookmark: Check31]|_| Chronic Lung Disease

	[bookmark: Check32][bookmark: Text1]|_| Other conditions affecting your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle      

	LEGAL SIGNATURE:
	
	DATE:
	

	                            No Nicknames

	Under 18 Requires:
SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN                                                                            RELATIONSHIP:                                                                    

	MVE-64M REVISED 10/24
	PLEASE READ OTHER SIDE




PLEASE MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: Secretary of State
                                           Mail to:		Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Examination Section
State House Station # 29
Augusta, ME  04333
**PLEASE INCLUDE ALL FEES & IDENTIFICATION WITH THIS APPLICATION**
“Moped” means a motorized device designed to travel with only 2 or 3 10-inch or larger diameter wheels in contact with the ground and that; may have pedals, has an electric or liquid fuel motor not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters or an electric motor with under 1,500 watts and does not require clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged.
“Moped” does not include an electric personal assistive mobility device.
“Motorcycle” means a motor vehicle that has a seat or a saddle for the use of the rider and is designed to travel with only 2 or 3 10-inch or larger diameter wheels and has a motor with a cylinder capacity of more than 50 cubic centimeters or an electric motor with a capacity of not less than 1,500 watts.
	REQUIREMENTS

	Two forms of identification required when submitting application materials.
On must indicate your date of birth and the other must bear your written signature.  If you are the holder of a Driver’s License from any State or Province that license MUST ALSO be produced. Acceptable ID:

	Adoption Papers
	Copy of Marital Application (Certified)
	Driver Education Card
	Military Discharge/Separation (DD-214)*

	Baptismal Records
	Court Record
	Driver’s License
	Military ID Card*

	Birth Certificate
	Divorce Papers
	Driver’s Permit
	Passport

	Citizenship Papers
	Draft Card
	Medical Record from Doctor/Hospital
	School Record/Transcript (Certified)

	Concealed Weapons Permit (gun permit)
	Military Dependent ID Card*
	Social Security Card

	Parent/Guardian (Parent/Guardian must appear in person and prove his/her identity, applies only to minors.)

	Birth Certificate is required for applicants under the age of twenty-three.
Copy of the Birth Certificate must have the EMBOSSED SEAL or STAMP of the issuing agency.
Notarized copies are NOT acceptable.


All questions on this application must be answered and be accompanied by the required materials or the application will be returned, causing undue delay in being scheduled for an examination.

Proof of residency and lawful presence is required upon submission of application. For a list of acceptable documents to establish such proof, refer to http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/getlicense.html

The road test phase of the examination for a license may be waived for holders of a VALID out-of-state license. 

The Secretary of State may not accept this application for any minor under the age of eighteen years unless the application is signed by a Parent or Legal Guardian having custody of the minor or by the Spouse of the minor provided the spouse is eighteen years of age or older.  Any person who has signed the application for a minor to obtain a LEARNER’S PERMIT or an OPERATOR’S LICENSE may thereafter file with the Secretary of State a notarized written request that the learner’s permit or operator’s license of said minor, so granted, be suspended.

*Veterans please visit the Bureau of Veterans’ Services website at http://www.maine.gov/veterans for information on state and federal benefits your military service may have earned you.
	I am aware that any misstatement on this application will result in immediate suspension or revocation of my permit or license and my privilege to operate in the State of Maine may be suspended for a period to be determined by the Secretary of State. Furthermore, I understand that knowingly supplying false information on this form is a Class D Crime. I also understand that any driver’s license or ID card I hold in another state may be canceled by that state according to its laws.




Manual available online: www.maine.gov/sos/bmv

MOTORCYCLE OR MOPED APPLICATION


 


***NOT FOR CDL CLASS A, B OR C OPERATORS PERMITS, LICENSES OR WAIVERS***


 


Written Examination Fee Must Be 


Included


 


With This Application


 


PRINT


 


FIRST NAME


 


INITIAL


 


LAST NAME


 


MAILING


 


ADDRESS


 


 


 


EMAIL ADDRESS


 


 


Date of 


Birth


 


Hair Color


 


Eye Color


 


Height


 


Weight


 


Gender


 


Telephone #


 


Social Security Number


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


Month Day Year


 


 


 


Feet 


&


 


Inches


 


Pound


s


 


M,


 


F,


 


X (Non


-


binary)


 


Required if eligible for SSN


 


 


Motorcycle


 


*APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST 


SIXTEEN


 


YEARS OF AGE*


 


$


35


.00


 


Applicants under the age eighteen are required to have a completion certificate for both Driver’s Education and


 


the 


Basic 


Rider Course (BRC).


 


All a


pplicants are required to complete


 


a BRC


.


 


 


Moped


 


*APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST 


SIXTEEN


 


YEARS OF AGE*


 


$


35


.00


 


Mopeds may be operated by any person who possesses a valid operator’s license of any class; or who possesses an 


operator’s license specially endorsed to operate a motorcycle or moped; or a permit for moped operation.


 


 


Oral Examination:


 


(check box if required)


 


If you require an oral examination you m


ay


 


bring your own 


reader/translator at time of test.


 


(


Literacy or 


American Sign Language interpreters will be 


prov


i


d


ed 


 


by the 


 


Bureau of Motor Vehicles upon advance request)


 


Maine Organ and Tissue Fund donation:  (   ) $2.00 or (   ) Other ________ (specify amount)


 


PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS


 


1)


 


Place of birth


 


YES


 


NO


 


 


 


City or Town


 


State or 


Country


 


 


 


2)


 


Are you applying for an instruction permit examination?


 


 


 


3)


 


Have you completed a course in Driver’s Education?


 


 


 


4)


 


Do you hold or have you ever held a valid driver’s license from Maine or any other state, 


country or province; Class:              Expiration date:                    Where:


 


 


 


5)


 


Have you ever held a Maine instruction permit or Non


-


driver identification card?


 


If yes, under what name? 


(Print)


 


 


 


6)


 


Have you been convicted of violating any motor vehicle laws within the last ten years?


 


What was the violation                                     Date:                     Where:


 


 


 


7)


 


I


s


 


your privilege to operate a motor vehicle under suspension or revocation in this state or any 


other state or province?


 


 


 


8)


 


Do you have any of the following medical conditions?


  


(If NO, check box)


 


 


 


 


Blackouts/Loss o


f 


Consciousness


 


 


Multiple Sclerosis


 


 


Sleep Apnea


 


 


Dementia


 


 


Narcolepsy/Hypersomnia


 


 


Hypoglycemia


 


 


 


Limb Amputation


 


 


Mental 


Health Condition


 


 


Musculoskeletal/Neurological


 


 


Spinal Cord Injury


 


 


Parkinson’s


 


 


Seizures


/Epilepsy


 


 


Substance Use Disorder


 


 


Heart Trouble


 


 


 


Stroke/Brain Injury


 


 


 


Chronic Lung Disease


 


 


Other conditions affecting your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


LEGAL SIGNATURE:


 


 


DATE:


 


 


                            


No Nicknames


 


Under 18 Require


s:


 


SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN       


                                                                     


RELATIONSHIP:


                                                                    


 


MVE


-


64


M REVISED 


10


/


2


4


 


PLEASE READ OTHER SIDE


 


 


 




MOTORCYCLE OR MOPED APPLICATION   ***NOT FOR CDL CLASS A, B OR C OPERATORS PERMITS, LICENSES OR WAIVERS***   Written Examination Fee Must Be  Included   With This Application  

PRINT  FIRST NAME  INITIAL  LAST NAME  MAILING   ADDRESS   

 

EMAIL ADDRESS   

Date of  Birth  Hair Color  Eye Color  Height  Weight  Gender  Telephone #  Social Security Number  

        

Month Day Year    Feet  &   Inches  Pound s  M,   F,   X (Non - binary)   Required if eligible for SSN  

 Motorcycle  *APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST  SIXTEEN   YEARS OF AGE*  

$ 35 .00  Applicants under the age eighteen are required to have a completion certificate for both Driver’s Education and   the  Basic  Rider Course (BRC).   All a pplicants are required to complete   a BRC .  

 Moped  *APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST  SIXTEEN   YEARS OF AGE*  

$ 35 .00  Mopeds may be operated by any person who possesses a valid operator’s license of any class; or who possesses an  operator’s license specially endorsed to operate a motorcycle or moped; or a permit for moped operation.  

 Oral Examination:   (check box if required)  If you require an oral examination you m ay   bring your own  reader/translator at time of test.   ( Literacy or  American Sign Language interpreters will be  prov i d ed    by the    Bureau of Motor Vehicles upon advance request)  

Maine Organ and Tissue Fund donation:  (   ) $2.00 or (   ) Other ________ (specify amount)  

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS  

1)  Place of birth  YES  NO  

  City or Town  State or  Country    

2)  Are you applying for an instruction permit examination?    

3)  Have you completed a course in Driver’s Education?    

4)  Do you hold or have you ever held a valid driver’s license from Maine or any other state,  country or province; Class:              Expiration date:                    Where:    

5)  Have you ever held a Maine instruction permit or Non - driver identification card?   If yes, under what name?  (Print)    

6)  Have you been convicted of violating any motor vehicle laws within the last ten years?   What was the violation                                     Date:                     Where:    

7)  I s   your privilege to operate a motor vehicle under suspension or revocation in this state or any  other state or province?    

8)  Do you have any of the following medical conditions?    (If NO, check box)    

  Blackouts/Loss o f  Consciousness    Multiple Sclerosis    Sleep Apnea    Dementia  

  Narcolepsy/Hypersomnia    Hypoglycemia      Limb Amputation    Mental  Health Condition  

  Musculoskeletal/Neurological    Spinal Cord Injury    Parkinson’s    Seizures /Epilepsy  

  Substance Use Disorder    Heart Trouble      Stroke/Brain Injury      Chronic Lung Disease  

  Other conditions affecting your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle              
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MVE - 64 M REVISED  10 / 2 4  PLEASE READ OTHER SIDE    

 

