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Chapter 30:
QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE

SUMMARY: This chapter establishes the guidelines which must be met by individuals to qualify for licensure.

Section 1. Bond Required

A.
Each applicant for initial and renewal licensure must furnish evidence of a $10,000 surety bond payable to the Treasurer of the State of Maine and issued by a surety company approved by the Bureau of Insurance and licensed to do business in the State of Maine.


B.
An applicant for initial licensure or renewal may be required by the Board, when necessary to protect the public, to obtain an additional bond in an amount determined appropriate by the Board.

Section 2. Examinations


A.
All applicants for licensure must demonstrate minimum knowledge of the licensing statute and Board rules by successfully completing a 50 question examination with a passing score of 80%.

B.
Examinations will be offered at least 4 times a year at the Board’s office.


C.
Applicants are required to submit an application and fee in a form prescribed by the Board.  Completed applications must be received ten (10) days prior to the scheduled examination date.


D.
A license applicant must submit an application for licensure within 90 days from the date of passing the examination.  In the absence of proper application and fee, the applicant shall qualify by new application and written examination.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 32 M.R.S.A., Chapter 5-B, Section 289

EFFECTIVE DATE:


September 18, 1999

