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DEPARTMENT OF SECRETARY OF STATE



BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Chapter 159:
RULES GOVERNING THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE PERMANENT, SEMIPERMANENT SEMITRAILER REGISTRATION PROGRAMS

SUMMARY: The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for the implementation of permanent, and semipermanent trailer registration programs.

In general, terms have the same meaning as set forth in Title 29-A of the Maine Revised Statutes, except as otherwise set forth in this rule.

A.
DEFINITIONS

1.
The term “registrant” means any person, firm, corporation, partnership, company, trustee, lessee or receivers owning or controlling a semitrailer being registered pursuant to 29-A MRSA §512.


2.
The term “semitrailer” means any vehicle without motive power designed for being drawn by a motor vehicle, where some part of the weight of the vehicle and its load rests upon or is carried by the vehicle.


3.
The term “Secretary” shall mean the Maine Secretary of State or any Deputy Secretary of State.


4.
The term “certificate” means a registration document issued by the Secretary of State identifying the vehicle and the registrant.


5.
The term “plate” means a unique external identification device assigned to a specific vehicle.


6.
The term "Agent” means any Maine resident acting on behalf of any person, firm, corporation, partnership, company, trustee, lessee or receivers owning or controlling a semitrailer being registered pursuant to 29-A MRSA §512.


7.
The term “Non-Governmental Agent” means any person appointed by the Secretary of State to issue original registrations, to renew registrations, and to transfer registrations from one vehicle to another.


8.
The term “permanent registration” means a long-term trailer registration certificate and plate with an expiration date of December 31st, 25 years from the year of issue. The fee for each registration shall be eighty dollars ($80.00) payable at time of issue.

B.
GENERAL INFORMATION

Pursuant to 29-A MRSA §512 the Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles has a semipermanent semitrailer registration program. It is a requirement that the person, partnership, or corporation participating in this program be a Maine resident, have a place of business in Maine, or have a designated agent or representative residing in Maine.


The Secretary of State offers three types of semipermanent trailer registrations programs: a five to 12 year program; a 20 year program and a 25 year permanent plate program.


Initial registration. Semitrailers must be registered for at least five years. Exceptions are made only to allow registrants to maintain a common expiration date for an existing fleet. In no case shall a semipermanent semitrailer registration be issued for fewer than three (3) years.


Renewals: Registrations which have expired may be renewed for periods of fewer then five years. When a registration is renewed a new registration number will be issued.


Pursuant to 29-A MRSA §512 Sub-section 2 the Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles will issue semipermanent semitrailer registrations valid for periods up to 20 years to qualified applicants. The fee for each registration is twelve dollars ($12.00) per year. A registration certificate and registration plate will be issued to each semitrailer registered.


Title fee for 25-year permanent plate is ten 18 dollars ($10.00) ($18.00)

All trailer applications may be processed by a non-governmental agent.

C.
COMMUNICATIONS

All written communications and documents should be addressed to the Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Trailer Unit, #29 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. All communications and documents are deemed to be officially received when delivered at the offices of the Secretary of State in Augusta, Maine. Telephone number is: (207) 624-9000 Ext. 52151. Fax number is (207) 624-9312. E-mail: trailerunit.bmv@maine.gov .
D.
CHANGE OF ADDRESS

A registrant must report any change of address of a principal place of business to the Secretary of State within 30 days.

E.
REMITTANCES

Remittances to the Secretary of State may be made by money order, or bank draft, or credit card payable to the Secretary of State or the Treasurer of the State of Maine. Personal checks are accepted subject to collection.


Remittances in currency are wholly at the risk of the remitter. The Secretary assumes no responsibility for loss of currency sent by mail.


All remittances must be in United States funds.

F.
REGISTRATION YEAR

The registration year is March 1 to the last day of February. The expiration date for the 25-year permanent plate program will be December 31, 25 years from the year of issue.

G.
MINIMUM FLEET SIZE

1.
In the 5 to 12 year program there is no minimum fleet size.


2.
In the twenty year program each registrant must register at least 1000 semitrailers in at least one registration year. Failure to maintain at least 1000 active registrations may result in the cancellation of the registrant’s registrations.


3.
To be eligible for the 25 year permanent registration program, a registrant must maintain a total of at least 30,000 registrations in any program under 29-A MRSA §512. The 30,000 registration total is additive among the programs.


Title fee for 25-year permanent plate is eighteen dollars ($18.00).
H.
ISSUANCE/DISPLAY

For each semitrailer to be registered pursuant to 29-A MRSA §512 , the registrant must complete an application prescribed by the Secretary of State. All applications must be typed. Documents with strikeovers or corrections which materially effect the integrity of the registration document will be rejected.


When a registration is a re-registration, the expiring plate number must be indicated on the renewal registration. Alternatively, the registrant may provide a listing of all registrations being renewed. For each record the listing must include the expiring plate number, the new plate number, and the vehicle identification number.


Certificates and plates may be displayed upon issuance. Upon display, the white and yellow copies of the registration must be forwarded to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles within 10 days. The Bureau may accept the exchange of information and may prepare documents from electronic media provided by the registrant.


The Secretary of State may require documentation submitted to support the issuance of more than 100 registrations of the 25-year permanent registration program be submitted via electronic media. Certificates and plates may be displayed upon issuance.


1.
Unless a registrant has been approved for time payments, full payment must be received at the time of registration. The fee is $12.00 per registration per year. A portion of a year is a full year.


2.
Semitrailers with a gross vehicle weight of 2,000 pounds or less are at a rate of five dollars ($5.00) per year.


3.
Time Payments
8 to 12 Year Billing Program



Upon approval of the Secretary of State, owners of fleets of 500 or more semitrailers may make installment payments as outlined in the following schedules. Upon written request, the Secretary of State may waive the 500 unit requirement. Registrations issued pursuant to the time payment program must be registered for at least eight years. The only exception is for units being placed in an existing fleet in order to maintain a common expiration date.



INITIAL REGISTRATION
1ST YEAR
2ND YEAR
3RD YEAR
4TH YEAR



12 year plan: 
$48.00

$24.00

$24.00

$24.00

$24.00



11 year plan:
$48.00

$24.00
 
$24.00

$24.00

$12.00



10 year plan: 
$48.00

$24.00

$24.00

$24.00



9 year plan: 
$48.00

$24.00

$24.00 

$12.00


8 year plan: 
$48.00

$24.00

$24.00

Time Payment Up to 20 Year Plan



Each application for a 20 year semipermanent registration must be accompanied by a payment of thirty-six dollars ($36.00) for the first three years’ fee. Once paid, no portion of the initial fee may be refunded.



Annual payments must be made prior to March 1. The first annual payment must be made prior to the start of the second registration year. The Secretary will prepare a detailed billing in January for each registrant. Registrants are required to pay the entire bill, and may not make any adjustments except for document cancellation.



If the registrant fails to make a required payment by March 15, all registrations issued pursuant to 29-A MRSA, Section 512 Sub-section 2 may be suspended.

J.
REFUNDS


The first three years’ fees may not be refunded. A refund will be issued for the unused portion of a registration (full year increments only). All requests for refunds must be submitted in writing. Both plate and certificate must be returned. If the plate is not returned a lost plate statement must be submitted and a fee of five dollars ($5.00) per plate will be deducted. If a registration certificate is not returned a two dollar ($2.00) per registration certificate is charged. If both the plate and certificate are not returned, a refund will be issued only if the registrant pays the lost plate and lost certificate fee, and submits a statement that the credentials have been lost.


All requests for refunds and accompanying documentation must be submitted in numerical sequence by plate number within expiration year, e.g. all 2018 registrations listed, then 2019 registrations, etc. No portion of the fee paid for the 25-year permanent registration may be refunded.


A registrant may not reregister a vehicle in the permanent registration program if any portion of the previous registration was refunded.

K.
TRANSFERS

The same documentation required for an application for new registration is required for a transfer, and the old registration certificate must be returned. If no certificate is returned the two dollar $2.00 duplicate certificate fee must be charged.


The file will be checked to determine that the original registration is valid. Once it has been determined that the registration is valid, the application will be processed as a new registration. Once the registration has been validated the plates may be transferred to the new unit.


Active registrations may be transferred for a fee of eight ($8.00) dollars. Registrations may not be transferred between registrants. For the 25 year program a registrant may transfer an unexpired registration to a semitrailer not previously registered to the registrant in this state. The fee is twenty dollars ($20.00).

L.
DOCUMENTATION TO ACCOMPANY NEW REGISTRATION APPLICATION


1.
For semitrailers required to be titled the application for registration must be accompanied by an application for title, a Manufacturers Statement of Origin (MSO) or a valid title from another state showing the name of the registrant. If the title does not show the registrant’s name then a Maine application for title must be filed. If a title from another state is presented the number on the registration application must be listed. Each agent must keep a copy of each title on file. The Bureau may verify the copy of the title during normal business hours.




NOTE: Photocopy of title or title number is acceptable.



If title is not required because of the age of the semitrailer the registrant must provide the Bureau with the current or previous registration, or a copy of the bill of sale showing the transfer to the applicant.


NOTE: Semitrailers with a model year of 1995 or newer must be titled.



A completed Sales/Use Tax form must also accompany the application. Even if no sales tax is due, a completed form must be filed. If sales tax is due it will be collected at time of registration.


2.
NEW REGISTRATION APPLICATION


The application for registration accompanied by proper fee checked for the following information:




Semitrailer Information

a.
Make
b.
Year
c.
Style
d.
Vehicle Identification Number
e.
Name and address (Agent address if applicable)
f.
Signature (As applicable)



If all required information is provided a clerk in the Trailer Unit will assign a plate number and validate the application. The white application must be retained for the files and the validated certificate will be issued. Plates will be provided according to Bureau of Motor Vehicles procedures.



Applications with missing information will be returned to the applicant or agent.



The signature requirement may be waived on the 25-year permanent plate.


3.
RE-REGISTRATION APPLICATION



Reregistration process for next year, may begin on October 1st. The plates for the next year may be displayed beginning December 1st. The application for re-registration, accompanied by proper fee is checked for the following information:




Semitrailer Information

a.
Make
b.
Year
c.
Style
d.
Vehicle Identification Number
e.
Expiring Plate Number ( Provide a listing)
f.
Name and address (Agent address if applicable)
g.
Signature (As applicable)



The signature requirement may be waived on the 25-year permanent plate.



If all required information is provided a clerk in the Long Term Trailer Unit will validate the application. The validated white application is retained for the files and validated certificate and plate are issued.



NO SALES/USE TAX FORM OR TITLE APPLICATION IS REQUIRED AT TIME OF RE-REGISTRATION.

M.
CANCELLATION OF REGISTRATION

A registration may be canceled at any time by returning the registration plate and certificate to the Secretary of State. The registrant remains responsible for all uncanceled registrations. When a registration is canceled, no fees may be refunded. In order to cancel registration listed on the annual bill, the registrant must submit a list of registrations to be canceled with the annual payment. The canceled registration plates and certificates must be returned or the registrant must file a statement that such were lost and must pay the lost document fees. The registrant may deduct canceled registrations from their bill. (Note: this does not apply to registrants for which a refund is being requested.)

N.
DUPLICATES

A registrant may request a duplicate registration certificate. The fee for a duplicate is two dollars ($2.00).

O.
LOST PLATES

A registrant may request a replacement plate. The fee for a replacement plate is five dollars ($5.00). A registration plate may be reported as lost or stolen by executing a notarized lost plate statement. The statement and registration certificate must be returned to the Secretary of State. If not available, the two dollar ($2.00) duplicate fee must be charged on the same unit. The plate number is checked to verify that it is still valid and active if valid, a new plate number will be assigned. The registrant may request a replacement registration certificate and registration plate. The fee for a replacement plate will be five dollars ($5.00) which will be in addition to any other fees. Plates reported as lost will no longer be valid.


The registrant must request replacement plates for lost 25-year permanent plates. A cardboard plate will be used until lost plate is replaced.

P.
RESIDENT AGENTS

Non-resident registrants must designate a resident agent to serve as the registrant’s legal representative. A resident agent must be a resident of Maine, and maintain a physical Maine address and telephone number.


The non-resident registrant must file the above information on the resident agent with the Secretary of State. The filing will remain valid unless superseded by another filing, or canceled by the agent. Resident agents must provide at least 30 days notice of cancellation to the Secretary of State.


A resident agent may act on behalf of a registrant with respect to semipermanent and 25 year permanent trailer registration.


Failure to maintain a resident agent as required may result in all registrations issued being suspended.


Resident registrants may designate a resident agent. Resident registrants using a resident agent must also file the required agent information.


An entity licensed by the Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions to do business in this state is a resident of this state for the purpose of this rule.

Q.
CONSIGNMENT PLATES

Consignment plates are semipermanent trailer or semitrailer plates, temporarily in the possession of an agent, that have not been assigned to a trailer or semitrailer. An agent may be issued consignment plates to use to replace lost plates, or to issue as new registrations. Agents are responsible for the proper use and accountability of consignments plates assigned to them.


1.
Twenty-five year Permanent Plate Consignment Program. Consignment plates for the permanent registration program will be made available. A registrant may receive consignment plates equal to one percent of the number of units registered in the program. The fee for each consignment plate is eighty dollars ($80.00). Registration certificates must contain the following: Plate number, registrant’s name, and address. The vehicle description information will be added by the registrant or their agent when the consignment plate is assigned to a vehicle.



An agent initially may be assigned up to ten semipermanent plates for each registration year to be used only as replacement plates for previously assigned plates reported as lost. The fee for each consignment plate used to replace a lost plate is five dollars ($5.00). The five dollar fee is non-refundable.



The agent will verify with the Bureau that the plate being replaced is an active registration. The agent will complete the green copy of the consignment plate registration and return it to the Bureau within five business days. The plate being replaced must be noted on the green copy. The Bureau will match the green copy to the Bureau’s copy, and will make the revisions to the Bureau’s database.



Consignment plates used as replacements for lost plates may be replenished on a one-for-one basis. Upon turning in the documents on a used consignment plate, the agent may receive an additional plate for the same year. The agent must pay the five dollar ($5.00) consignment plate fee at the time the consignment plate is issued.


2.
Consignment plates used for new eight to twelve and twenty year registrations. An agent may be issued consignment plates to be used to issue new registrations for their clients’ newly acquired trailers or semitrailers. For eight to twelve year plates, the agent must pay an initial fee of forty-eight dollars ($48.00) per consignment plate representing the fee for the first four years of the registration, for the 20 year program the fee would be thirty-six ($36.00) dollars. Each consignment plate will remain the responsibility of the agent until assigned to a registrant's unit. The agent will be billed annually under the regular billing program for any consignment plates that remain assigned to the agent under this paragraph. The annual incremental payment will be due by March 1 of each year.



Upon assignment of the plate to a new trailer or semitrailer, within five business days the agent shall return the green copy of the registration to the Bureau along with required supporting documentation. The agent shall fill out the green copy of the registration including the vehicle and registrant information. The Bureau will update its database, and will reassign the registration to the registrant’s fleet. The registrant will become responsible for subsequent registration fees.


3.
Full fee consignment plates. An agent may obtain consignment plates by paying the annual fee multiplied by the term of the plate. These plates remain the responsibility of the agent until assigned to a registrant’s trailer or semitrailer as a new registration. Upon assignment, the agent must turn in a completed green copy of the registration and any supporting documentation within five business days.



Refunds. The first three years’ fees are non-refundable. For the fourth and subsequent years an agent may return consignment plates for a refund of any unused portion of the registration that has been paid for. Any portion of a year is a full year. In order to receive any refund, the agent must return both the plate and all copies of the registration documents. No portion of the fee for the 25-year permanent plate may be refunded.



Cancellation. An agent may request that a consignment plate be canceled without refund. The Bureau will enter the registration on the database with the status “canceled”. The agent will not be billed for subsequent registration years. For lost plate consignments, the agent may not receive an additional plate to replenish the canceled plate. A canceled plate may be reactivated within the same license year at the request of the agent, and with the approval of the Secretary of State.



Misuse of consignment plates. Any agent who fails to meet the requirements for the use of consignment plates may have their privileges suspended or revoked. Any agent whose privileges have been suspended or revoked may request a hearing from the Secretary of State.

R.
EXPIRATION

While registrations issued pursuant to 29-A MRSA §512 sub-section 2 will generally be for twenty year periods, registrants may request registrations for a shorter period only to consolidate fleet registrations. In no case will a registration be issued for fewer than three years.

S.
TRANSITION/RENEWAL 

The Secretary of State may prepare preprinted registration certificates for any qualified registrant renewing registrations previously issued pursuant to 29-A MRSA §512.


The Secretary of State may issue unassigned registration plates equal to up to twenty percent of the registrant’s expiring registrations. The registrant will assign registration plates to a specific unit. The registrant must enter the new registration plate number on the registration certificate within 10 days of display in order to receive any additional unassigned plates.
T. 
EXTENSIONS
Extensions may be allowed to extend an Active registration for at least three (3) years, but not more than the current twelve (12) year plate. 

Extensions are restricted to full payment 12 year registration program.

Annual Trailer registrations may not be extended into the Long Term Trailer registration program.

T.U.
MUNICIPAL FISCAL IMPACT

This rule will have no fiscal impact on municipalities.

EFFECTIVE DATE:


June 18, 1991 (EMERGENCY)
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February 9, 1992

EFFECTIVE DATE (ELECTRONIC CONVERSION):


May 4, 1996
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NON-SUBSTANTIVE CORRECTIONS:
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