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OFFICE OF DATA, RESEARCH AND VITAL STATISTICS

Chapter 13:
STATE SHARE OF VITAL RECORDS FEE
SUMMARY: These rules establish the process for the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention to charge a fee to municipalities pertaining to Departmental services related to health data and vital records, including, but not limited to, the costs for services, paper and supplies. Pursuant to 22 M.R.S.A. §263, these rules are major substantive rules as defined by Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. 

PURPOSE: The purpose of these rules is to establish a process by which the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention may charge municipalities a service fee pertaining to health data and vital statistics, including but not limited to costs for services, paper and supplies.

Section 1. Definitions

A. Department means the State of Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Data, Research and Vital Statistics.

B. Municipal Revenue Reporting is the methodology required by the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Data, Research and Vital Statistics (ODRVS) for municipalities to submit and pay the State Share of Vital Records Fee.
C.
State Share of Vital Records Fee is the amount to be paid by municipalities to the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Data, Research and Vital Statistics, based upon (1) the actual number of certified copies and additional certified copies of the same records requested at the same time relating to birth, death and marriage records issued by a municipality; (2) the actual number of Disposition Permits of Human Remains issued by a municipality; (3) and the actual number of marriage licenses issued by a municipality.

Section 2. State Share of Vital Records Fee Methodology

The State Share of Vital Records Fee is assessed upon Maine municipalities by the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Data, Research and Vital Statistics (ODRVS) for services including, but not limited to, services, supplies, technology, health data and vital statistics, and paper. Revenues derived from the Municipal Service Fee provides funds from increased revenue to municipalities for ODRVS to defray the Department’s operating expenses as provided in Public Laws 2009 c.589. The items subject to the municipal service fee and the fees are as follows:

· Certified copies of birth, death or marriage - $5.00 

· Additional certified copies of birth, death or marriage - $1.00

· Marriage Licenses - $10.00

· Disposition of Human Remains Permits - $15.00

The State Share of Vital Records Fee will be based upon the increase in revenues realized by municipalities resulting from their authority to assess higher fees for vital records pursuant to P.L.°2009, c. 589, sec.7. and will be assessed at an amount sufficient to defray the Department’s operating expenses in servicing the vital records system in Maine. The State Share of Vital Records Fee will be determined at the commencement of each fiscal year. For fiscal year 2010‑2011 the Municipal Service Fee assessment will be 40% of the increased municipal revenues on the above items, subject to a cap of $442,665.00.
Section 3. Reporting

Municipalities must submit their Municipal Revenue Reporting and the State Share of Vital Records Fee in a format and schedule as determined by the Department. The report shall provide an accurate count of documents identified hereinafter and the associated State Share of Vital Records Fee for each document. The report must contain an accurate count of the number of (1)°single certified copies of birth, death or marriage records; (2) additional copies of the same records of birth, death and marriage records; (3) marriage licenses issued; and (4) the Disposition of Human Remains Permits issued from the municipal office (or sub-registrar appointment issuance) for the specific year in question. 

Any surplus revenues received for State Fiscal Year 2011 will be applied to the total State Share of Vital Records Fee for State Fiscal Year 2012.

Each municipality shall remit the fees to the Department for revenues generated by the above listed items on and after the effective date of this rule. For those municipalities on a monthly payment schedule, remittance of the municipal service fee must be post marked by the 30th of each month to the Department. For municipalities reporting quarterly or semi-annually, the State Share of Vital Records Fee shall be post marked by the 30th of the month following the reporting period.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 22 M.R.S.A. §263
EFFECTIVE DATE (as “Municipal Service Fee”):


October 5, 2010 – filing 2010-462 (EMERGENCY major substantive)
EFFECTIVE DATE (as “State Share of Vital Records Fee”):

July 9, 2011 – filing 2011-184 (Major substantive, final adoption)

