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02		DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION

041		OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

ELEVATOR AND TRAMWAY SAFETY PROGRAM

Chapter 539:	LICENSED LIFT MECHANICS


Summary: This Chapter establishes requirements for licensure of lift mechanics in addition to those established by 32 MRS §§ 15213-15216-C.



1.	Applications

	Applications for examination and licensure must be on forms provided by the Director and must be accompanied by the fees established by the Director.


2.	Qualifications for Initial Licensure

	To qualify for a lift mechanic’s license, an applicant must:

A.	Experience. Present satisfactory written evidence that the applicant:

(1)	Has at least 2 years’ experience in the service, repair, alteration or installation of lifts while employed by an elevator company;

(2)	Has at least 4000 hours’ experience, over at least a 2-year period, in the service, repair, alteration or installation of lifts other than while employed by an elevator company;

(3)	Has at least 4000 hours’ experience, over at least a 2-year period, in the service, repair, alteration or installation of lifts either while employed by an elevator company or in any other capacity; or

(4)	Holds a current Maine elevator mechanic’s license.

B.	Examination. Obtain a grade of at least 80% on an examination administered by the Director. To be eligible to take the examination, the applicant must satisfy the requirements of section 2, paragraph A. An applicant holding a current Maine elevator mechanic’s license need not take the examination;

C.	Deadline for Application. Apply for the license within 90 days after receiving notification of a passing score on the examination; and 

D.	Fee; Forfeiture. Submit the examination fee for a lift mechanic’s license together with the application for the license. An applicant for licensure who fails to appear for a scheduled examination without notifying the Director before the examination forfeits the examination fee.


3.	Renewal of License

	A.	Expiration. All lift mechanic licenses expire on August 31.

B.	Eligibility for Renewal. To renew a lift mechanic’s license, an applicant must comply with 32 MRS §15216-C. A license may be renewed up to 90 days after expiration upon payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.


4.	License Reinstatement

[bookmark: _GoBack]A.	More than 90 Days but Not More than Two Years. An individual who fails to renew a lift mechanic’s license for more than 90 days but not more than two years from the date of expiration, may reinstate the license without taking the examination required by section 2, paragraph B, by filing a new application for renewal and by filing and paying the application fee, license fee, and penalty as set forth in the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules Chapter 10, Establishment of License Fees, Section 4.

B.	More than Two Years. An individual who fails to renew a lift mechanic’s license for more than two years from the date of expiration must obtain a new license by satisfying the requirements of Title 32, Chapter 133, and of sections 1 and 2 of this Chapter.


5.	Unsafe Conditions

	If a licensed lift mechanic observes an unsafe condition in the course of installing, servicing, testing or maintaining a lift, the lift mechanic shall immediately report the unsafe condition to the Chief Inspector in accordance with the procedure for reporting accidents specified in Chapter 521.


6.	Independent Contractor 

	In performing all duties and tasks relating to lifts, licensed lift mechanics are deemed to be acting as independent contractors and not as officers, employees, or agents of the State of Maine. The State assumes no liability for the actions or omissions of licensed lift mechanics.





(Note: In 2013, statutory changes restructured the licensing and regulation of elevators and tramways by eliminating the Board of Elevator and Tramway Safety and creating the Elevator and Tramway Safety Program, administered by the Director of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation.)
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