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Chapter 713:
ESTABLISHMENT OF REGISTRATION AND RENEWAL FEES AND APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MAINE’S GUARANTEED ASSET PROTECTION WAIVER ADMINISTRATORS AND REQUIREMENT FOR REGISTRATION THROUGH THE NATIONWIDE MULTISTATE LICENSING SYSTEM (NMLS)
SUMMARY
This Chapter makes the modifications necessary to transition registration of all guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators currently registered by the State of Maine to a multi-state system administered by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS). As authorized by law, this Chapter establishes an annual registration effective from January 1 through December 31 of each year and sets application and renewal fees and application requirements for guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators. The rule requires applicants for new registrations to apply to NMLS as of the effective date of this rule and requires guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators currently registered in Maine to transition to NMLS.
I.
Authority
Pursuant to 10 M.R.S. § 1500-H(6-A), the Superintendent may establish, by rule, fees to apply for or renew guaranteed asset protection waiver administrator registrations, except that the fee for an initial application may not exceed $300.00, and the fee for renewal may not exceed $300.00.  Renewal applications received after the expiration date are subject to a late fee of $100.00.  
Title 10 M.R.S. § 1500-H(6-A) authorizes the Superintendent to establish routine technical rules to move guaranteed asset protection waiver administrator registration to the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS), including rules authorizing NMLS to collect fees and remit those fees to the Bureau, authorizing collection of fees by NMLS for its processing costs, authorizing NMLS to process and maintain registration records, and authorizing the use of NMLS’s uniform forms.
Title 10 M.R.S. § 1500-H(6-A) provides,  “In all cases, whether registration is through the nationwide mortgage licensing system and registry or otherwise, the Superintendent may establish, by rule, requirements for registration ….”
II.
Purpose
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to use NMLS for registration of all guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the entities and will simplify recordkeeping and standardize processes for all guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators registered in Maine. This Chapter does not modify the standards for registration or the applicability of the provisions of the Maine Guaranteed Asset Protection Waivers Act, 10 M.R.S. § 1500-H, but rather sets forth the registration requirements to be utilized henceforth by the Bureau.
III.
Definitions
For the purpose of this Chapter, the following terms have the following meanings
1. “Administrator” means a person, other than an insurer or creditor, that performs administrative or operational functions pursuant to a guaranteed asset protection waiver program.
2. “Bureau” means the Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection.

3. “Controlling person” means an individual or entity having ownership interest of 25% or more in the applicant or an entity of which the applicant is a subsidiary.

4. “Guaranteed Asset Protection Waiver Administrator” means an entity as defined in 10 M.R.S. § 1500-H(1)(A). 
5. “Nationwide Multistate Licensing System,” herein referred to as “NMLS,” means the nationwide multistate licensing system and registry for mortgage lender licensing and loan brokering referred to in 9-A M.R.S. § 13-102(8) (previously, the “Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System”).
6. "Superintendent" means the Superintendent of Consumer Credit Protection. 
IV. General Provisions
1. Administrative authority granted to NMLS. To effectuate the transition of all guaranteed asset
        protection waiver administrator registrations to NMLS, NMLS is authorized to collect fees and 
        remit those fees to the Bureau, collect fees for its processing costs, process and maintain 
        registration records, and require use of NMLS uniform electronic and paper forms.
2. Licensing periods.  Registrations for guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators are granted for a one‑year period commencing January 1st and expiring on December 31st.  
3. For guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators that hold a valid Maine registration
       for 20223.
a. Transitional period. The period from November 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023 is considered a transitional period, during which all registered guaranteed asset protection waiver administrators wishing to remain registered must obtain registrations through NMLS.  
b. One-month late transitional period. All renewal applications to transition existing registrations to NMLS received between January 1, 2024 and January 31, 2024 will be processed, but applicants will be assessed a late fee of $100.00.
c. Deadline. Renewal applications transitioning to NMLS will not be accepted after January 31, 2024.  All applications received after that date will be considered new applications.
d. NMLS processing fees. At the time existing registrants apply to NMLS for a renewal registration, they must pay the NMLS processing fee directly to NMLS.

e. State of Maine renewal registration application fees. The fee to renew a guaranteed asset protection waiver administrator registration is set at $150.00.

4. For applicants that do not hold a valid Maine guaranteed asset protection waiver
       administrator registration as of the effective date of this rule (“new applicants”)
a. NMLS processing fees. Applicants that submit applications after November 1, 2023 will pay the NMLS processing fee directly to NMLS.  Between the effective date of this rule and November 1, 2023, applicants will file applications and pay fees directly to the Bureau on forms established by the Administrator.  No processing fees will be due to NMLS for registrations issued prior to November 1, 2023.  If an application is received prior to November 1, 2023, but a registration cannot be issued prior to November 1, 2023, the applicant will be required to reapply through NMLS.


b.
Terms of registrations. New registrations issued November 1 or later each year  

                                       will be valid through December 31 of the following year. Registrations issued  

                                       before November 1 will be valid through December 31 of the year in which    

                                       issued.

c. State of Maine new registration application fees. Fees assessed new   

       applicants (as well as existing registrants that apply to transition to NMLS after  

       January 31, 2023) are as follows:




i. Guaranteed asset protection waiver administrator registration: $200.00;



            ii. Renewal of registration: $150.00.
5. New registrations and renewal registrations issued following completion 
             of the transition to NMLS
a. NMLS to determine registration and renewal procedures. New and renewal registrations issued after the effective date of this rule shall be processed pursuant to the procedures established by NMLS.
b. NMLS to determine time periods for registration validity. New registrations and renewal registrations issued after November 1, 2023 shall be valid for the time periods established by NMLS.
c. Payment of fees. Application, renewal and processing fees will be paid directly to NMLS.
d. Late renewal for other than application for initial transition to NMLS. For any renewal application other than the initial application for an entity to transition its existing registration to NMLS, renewal applications received after December 31 of any year will be considered late. The status of such registrations will be changed to “terminated – failed to renew” or an equivalent status. Such registrations may be reinstated if a renewal application is received between January 1 and the end of February, together with all renewal fees and late fee of $100.00. Beginning March 1 of any year, renewal requests will not be processed, and companies must apply for a new registration.
6. Application Requirements.  Applicants for new or renewal registrations shall provide the following information and documentation:
a. Full legal name and address of the entity to be registered.

b. Telephone number and website address.

c. Type of entity: sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, LLC, LLP, other (explain, if “other”).

d. Social Security Number or Federal Tax Identification Number as applicable.

e. Any assumed or fictitious names to be used.

f. For foreign entities, proof of filing with and authority to do business as a foreign entity from the Maine Secretary of State.

g. For foreign entities, the name address and telephone number of an authorized agent within the state of Maine for service of process.

h. Résumés of: 
i.     A sole proprietor;
ii     The executive officers of a corporate applicant;

iii     The managers of an LLC or LLP;





 iv    All partners of a partnership; 

v.   The person who will oversee the daily operations of the registered office and its personnel;




vi. and    Each controlling person.
i. Sample copies of all  guaranteed asset protection waiver forms used or   proposed for use with Maine consumers.

j. Names and addresses of all lenders and creditors for which the applicant administered guaranteed asset protection waivers in the 12 months immediately prior to application.
k. The number of guaranteed asset protection waivers administered 


                    involving Maine residents in the 12 months immediately prior to application.
l.        The names, titles, addresses, telephone numbers, and e-mail addresses of the individual(s)s to contact for scheduling of compliance examinations and consumer complaint resolution.

m.        Whether the applicant or any owner, partner, executive officer, manager, or  controlling person has been the subject of an administrative denial or revocation of licensure or registration, been involved in material civil litigation or been involved in a criminal action involving theft, forgery, false representation, misapplication of funds or other financial issue within the past 10 years and, for each such instance, provide the title of the action, jurisdiction, date of disposition, and a detailed explanation of the individual’s or entity’s involvement.

n.        Full addresses for all locations where records of guaranteed asset protection waiver administration are stored.

7. Changes to existing licensing information. If any information reported by a registrant changes during a period of registration, the registrant must amend its information on file with NMLS within 30 days of the occurrence of the change or such shorter period as required by NMLS rules or procedures.  Notice of a change of control of the registrant must be provided to the Bureau by advance change notice on NMLS and the Bureau must approve any change of control before the same becomes effective.
8. Routine technical rule. This is a routine technical rule as authorized by 10 M.R.S.
             § 1500-H(6-A).
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