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BUREAU OF CONSUMER CREDIT PROTECTION
Chapter 703:
ESTABLISHMENT OF FEES AND APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MAINE’S EXCHANGE FACILITATOR LICENSING 
SUMMARY
This Chapter eliminates the April 30 licensing date for exchange facilitators, substituting a license term effective from January 1 through December 31 each year. It sets application and renewal fees and application requirements for exchange facilitators. 
I.
Authority
10 M.R.S. §1396(2) provides that the administrator may establish, by rule, requirements for licensing, including but not limited to, the payment of fees to apply for or renew licenses, except that the fee for an initial application may not exceed $600.00 and for a renewal may not exceed $500.00. The statute also allows the Administrator to establish other requirements for application, amendment, or revocation of a license or any other such activities as the Administrator considers necessary. 
II.
Purpose
The purpose of this Chapter is to change the license term for exchange facilitators in order to standardize licensing terms for activities licensed by the Bureau, to set fees for initial and renewal licensing, and to establish the requirements for applications.
III.
Definitions 
For the purpose of this Chapter, the following terms have the following meanings:
1. “Administrator” means the Superintendent of the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection.
2. “Bureau” means the Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection.
3. “Exchange Facilitator” has the same meaning as set forth in 10 M.R.S. §1395(4).
IV. General Provisions
1. Licensing periods.

Previously, licenses were granted for a period which expired on April 30th. Effective with this rule, licenses are granted for a 1‑year period commencing on January 1st and expiring on December 31st.
2. Exchange facilitators that hold a valid Maine license expiring on April 30, 2023.
a. Renewal licenses issued for licenses expiring on April 30, 2023 will be granted for the period May 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023.  The renewal fee for the 2023 term shall be prorated to $135.00 for the main license location and $100.00 for each branch location.
b. One-month late transitional period. All renewal applications from existing licensees received between January 1, 2024 and January 31, 2024 will be processed, but applicants will be assessed a late fee of $100.00.
c. Deadline. Renewal applications will not be accepted after January 31, 2024. All applications received after that date will be considered new applications, subject to the provisions and fees set forth in subsection 3 below.
3. Applicants that do not hold a valid Maine exchange facilitator license as of May 1, 2023 (“new applicants”).
a. Terms of licenses. All new licenses issued after the effective date of this rule and before November 1, 2023 shall pay a license fee of $135.00 for a license period ending December 31, 203.  New licenses issued after November 1 of each year shall be valid through December 31 of the following year.

b. State of Maine new license application fees. Yearly license fees assessed to new applicants (as well as existing licensees that re-apply after January 31, 2024) are as follows:
1. $350.00 for the first licensed location; and
2. $200.00 for each branch location.
4. Renewal fees.
a. Renewal fees.  Renewal fees are set at:
1. $200.00 yearly for the first licensed location; and
2. $150.00 yearly for each branch location.
b. Late renewal. Renewal applications received after December 31 of any year will be considered late. The status of such licenses will be changed to “terminated – failed to renew” or an equivalent status. Such licenses may be reinstated if a renewal application is received between January 1 and the last day of February, together with a late fee of $100.00. 
5. Application Contents.  Applicants for new or renewal registrations shall provide the following information and documentation.  A separate registration is required for each location from which business is conducted.

a. Full legal name and address of the individual or entity to be registered.

b. Telephone number and website address.   
c. Type of entity: sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, LLC, LLP, other 
         (explain).

d. Social Security number or Federal Tax Identification number as applicable.

e. Any assumed or fictitious names to be used.

f. For foreign entities, proof of filing with and authority to do business as a foreign 
        entity from the Maine Secretary of State.

g. For foreign entities, the name address and telephone number of an authorized      

        agent within the State of Maine for service of process.

h. Résumés of: 
1.
A sole proprietor; 




2. 
The executive officers of a corporate applicant; 
       

3. 
The manager of an LLC or LLP; 


4. 
All partners of a partnership; and  




5. 
The person who will oversee the daily operations of the      

                                                     registered office and its personnel.
i. A consumer report and criminal background report for each of the      

        individuals listed in h.

j. Proof that the applicant has met the financial responsibility portions of the law, 
        by complying with at least one of the following three requirements: 
1. The exchange facilitator must arrange to deposit all  

exchange funds in a qualified escrow account or qualified trust, as those terms are defined under United States Treasury Regulation Section 1.103(k)(1)(g)(3), with a financial institution and provide that any withdrawal from that escrow account or trust requires the exchange facilitator’s and the client’s written authorization; 
2. The exchange facilitator must maintain a fidelity bond or  

       bonds in an amount not less than $250,000 executed by an  

       insurer authorized to business in the State of Maine; or
3. The exchange facilitator must deposit cash or securities or   

irrevocable letters of credit in an amount not less than $250,000 in an interest-bearing deposit account or a money market account with a financial institution (interest on that amount accrues to the exchange facilitator), which may not be withdrawn without consent of the Administrator
k. Proof that the applicant has complied with the insurance or alternate coverage   

        provision of the law, that requires that exchange facilitators either:  
1. Maintain an errors and omissions insurance policy in an amount     

not less than $100,000.00, executed by an insurer authorized to     do business in the State of Maine; or 
2. Deposit an amount of cash or securities or irrevocable letters of   

credit in an amount not less than $100,000.00 in an interest‑bearing deposit account or a money market account with a financial institution, interest on that amount accruing to the exchange facilitator. which may not be withdrawn without consent of the Administrator
l. The names, titles, addresses, telephone numbers and e-mail addresses of the  

        persons to contact for scheduling of our compliance examinations and consumer  




complaint resolution.
m.         A sample contract or written agreement and disclosure forms of the type that will 
be utilized with Maine consumers.
n.       Whether the applicant has been the subject of a civil, administrative or criminal  

                                      action involving theft, forgery, false representation, misapplication of funds or   

                                      other financial issue within the past 10 years. If so, for each such instance, provide      

                                      the title of the action, jurisdiction, date of disposition, and a detailed explanation    

                                      of the applicant’s involvement.

6. Changes to existing licensing information. If any information reported by a licensee changes during a period of licensure, the licensee must amend its information on file with the Bureau within 30 days of the occurrence of the change.  Notice of a change of control of the licensee must be provided to the Bureau  and the Bureau must approve any change of control before the same becomes effective. 
7. Routine technical rule. This is a routine technical rule as authorized by 10 M.R.S. 


§ 1396(2).
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 10 M.R.S. § 1396(2)
EFFECTIVE DATE:
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