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I.
DEFINITIONS

A.
Milk Promotion Fee: An amount of money paid by dairy processors into a national program to promote the sale of milk.


B.
Fluid Milk Promotion Program: A national program for fluid-milk promotion and consumer education funded by a mandatory assessment on all milk products processed and marketed commercially in consumer-type packages by fluid milk processors in the 48 contiguous States.
II.
STATUTORY FRAMEWORK AND BACKGROUND

Pursuant to the Milk Commission Law 7 M.R.S.A., §2951 et seq. the Commission conducted informational hearings as part of its investigation previous to formal rule making hearings. The process started in August 1993 when one major Maine dairy processor inquired what the Commission's position would be regarding a national dealers referendum for a monthly milk promotion fee of $0.20/cwt.


The Milk Commission developed their position on the Milk Promotion Fee over the next five months as the rule making process continued and as dealers, producers and Commission intervenors provided both formal and informal input.


The dealer referendum took place in October 1993 and the results made known November 1993. The program passed with 72% of the voting companies approving the promotion order. Those companies voting yes account for 77% of the total volume of fluid milk products marketed in the U.S. The first assessment of $0.20/cwt will be announced with the January 5 federal order advance Class I price announcement applicable to all Class I milk sales in February. Processors will be required to remit the first assessment payment to the National Processor Board by the end of March. Subsequent assessments will also be announced each month with the federal order Class I price announcements.


The test period of $0.20/cwt fee assessment to be contributed by milk processors will apply February through July 1994; thereafter the fee assessment may vary. The processors asked the Milk Commission to include in monthly minimum wholesale and retail prices the assessment. At $0.20/cwt. the minimum cost will be $0.0172 per gallon when included in the monthly Commission minimums.
III.
MILK PROMOTION FEE

The dealer's mandatory fee assessment as announced by the appropriate, Federal Agency may be established in Commission minimum wholesale and retail prices. The amount of the fee assessment per controlled container shall appear monthly on the Commission Is price schedule. Me price schedule will also show the total Class I Producer Price, the Federal Agency Promotion Assessment Fee, and the Total Class I Dealer costs. The monthly fee assessment will not be part of the producer Class I minimum price. See Appendix A for sample of a price schedule with the above information.
IV.
MILK PROMOTION FEE PAYMENT/COLLECTION

It will be the dealers’ responsibility to pay the proper amount to the national program and report number of pounds and the dollar amount to the Maine Milk Commission on a monthly basis.
V.
EFFECTIVE DATE

The new dealer milk promotion fee becomes effective in Maine minimums February 1, 1994 when that months minimum wholesale and retail prices are scheduled to go into effect. Thereafter, dealer promotion fee minimums are effective the first Sunday of the first week of the month.
VI.
MISCELLANEOUS

Severability: In the event the dealer's promotion fee is discontinued the rule becomes null and void and the fee will not be continued nor recognized in minimum wholesale and retail prices.
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