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1. Licenses are issued for the following levels of Instructor Coordinators (I/C):

0. I/C- EMT - a person licensed at the I/C - EMT level may act as the lead instructor in courses leading to licensure at the Emergency Medical Responder, and EMT license levels.
0. I/C- Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) - a person licensed at the I/C - AEMT level may act as the lead instructor in courses leading to licensure at the Emergency Medical Responder, EMT and Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) license levels.

0. I/C- Paramedic - a person licensed at the I/C- Paramedic level may act as the lead instructor in courses leading to licensure at the Emergency Medical Responder, EMT, Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT), and Paramedic license levels.

1. Licensed Instructor Coordinators are responsible for EMS licensure program criteria as approved by the Board.  Instructor Coordinator licenses are valid for a period of two years, or as otherwise determined by Maine EMS.

1. To obtain and maintain a new or renewed Instructor Coordinator license, the applicant must:

1. Be at least 18 years of age.

2. Submit the following to Maine EMS:

A. A completed Maine EMS Instructor Coordinator application signed by the applicant.

B. Proof of education consistent with current Maine EMS Education Standards at the:

1. EMT level, if applying for an I/C-EMT license.

2. Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) level, if applying for an I/C – AEMT license.

3. Paramedic level, if applying for an I/C – Paramedic license.  

C. Training Certification, which may be:
 
0. A Board-approved instructor coordinator training program completed within two years of license application at the appropriate level taught by a Maine EMS licensed I/C following the guidelines set forth by the Training Center or a program judged by Maine EMS to be equivalent; or,  

0. For licensees whose Maine Instructor Coordinator license is current or not expired by more than two years - Maine EMS-approved continuing education hours - 16 hours of Maine EMS approved continuing education specifically designed to address educational issues and approved by Maine EMS, provided that:

1. Certificates of continuing education hours have not been used for a previous license renewal and have been earned within the past two years. 

1. No more than 6 hours of continuing education received by the applicant for instructing Maine EMS licensing courses may be used towards fulfilling license renewal requirements.  

D. A complete history of criminal convictions as well as civil infractions for alcohol or drugs.  Maine EMS will consider this to the extent allowed by Maine Law.

E. A complete history of any action taken against any emergency medical services certification or license or professional certification or license that the applicant currently holds or has ever held.

1. License Renewal and Expiration

0. An application will not be accepted as complete unless it includes all materials required to be evaluated for licensure.

0. At the time of renewal, each licensee must certify, on an application provided by Maine EMS, the number of continuing education hours completed for license renewal. No additional information or continuing education documentation is required to be submitted at the time of renewal. However, the licensee shall retain documentation of continuing education hours included in the current renewal period. For purposes of this paragraph, “current renewal period” means the 24-month period prior to the application date.  In calculating continuing education hours completed prior to the month of application, the last day of each month shall be considered the completion date for all continuing education completed within a given month.

0. Applicants for license renewal will be selected by Maine EMS on a random basis for audit of continuing education compliance. In addition, an individual licensee may be selected for an audit as part of an investigation or if there is reasonable cause to believe the licensee has provided a false certification concerning the completion of continuing education requirements. An audit will review the last two continuing education hour certifications submitted by the licensee, including the current renewal period.  

0. Licensees selected for audit will be notified to submit documentation of the continuing education hours that were certified by the licensee at the time of renewal. Licensees will have ten (10) days from the date of notification to submit all requested documentation.  Continuing education hours that cannot be documented in accordance with the documentation requirements determined by the Board or that do not satisfy the requirements for continuing education contained in these Rules will be disallowed.

0. Applicants for license renewal must present proof of satisfactory completion of continuing education in accordance with these Rules. Failure to comply with the continuing education rules may, at Maine EMS’s discretion, result – in accordance with 32 M.R.S. Chapter 2B and the Maine EMS Rules -  in disciplinary action to deny license renewal or may result in a decision to enter into a consent agreement and probation setting forth terms and conditions to correct the licensee's failure to complete continuing education or may result in any other disciplinary action available to the Board. Terms and conditions of a consent agreement may include requiring completion of increased hours of continuing education, civil penalties, suspension and other terms as the Board, the licensee and the Department of the Attorney General determine appropriate. 

0. A person may apply for a renewal license for up to ninety (90) days after the date of expiration. The ninety-day period does not postpone the expiration date of the license.
          
0. Licensees whose licenses have   expired cannot act in an Instructor Coordinator capacity in any class leading to licensure until a renewed license has been issued.

0. An application submitted more than ninety (90) days after the license expiration date shall be considered an application for a new license and subject to all requirements governing new applications.

1. Duty to Report

0. A licensee or an applicant for licensure under this chapter shall notify the Board in writing within 10 days of a:
 
A. Change of name or address;
B. Criminal conviction;
C. Revocation, suspension, or other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction against any occupational or professional license held by the applicant or licensee; or,
D. Material change in the conditions or qualifications set forth in the original application for licensure submitted to the Board.
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