CHAPTER 8-A:  TRAINING CENTERS

16	DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

163	BUREAU OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES (MAINE EMS)

CHAPTER 8-A:  TRAINING CENTERS

1. A provider of emergency medical services courses leading to licensure in Maine must be authorized by the Board in accordance with 32 M.R.S. §88(2)(D) and these Rules.

§1. Authorization Factors – The authorization issued under this chapter is for a Training Center

0. Ownership

Upon request of the Board, an applicant or authorized Training Center must provide the Board with the identity and legal status (e.g. municipality, corporation, limited liability company, sole proprietorship) of the person or entity that holds or is making application for the authorization.  Failure to provide this information will result in an application being treated as incomplete.

0. Physical address or location

An authorization is issued for a specific physical address or location.

§2. Change in Authorization Factors 

A Training Center must receive Board approval to change any of the authorization factors.

§3. Standards 

0. An application will not be accepted as complete unless it includes all materials required to be evaluated for authorization.  To obtain new authorization, a Training Center applicant must:

A. Apply in a format prescribed by Maine EMS; and,

B. Demonstrate to Maine EMS that the applicant complies with the requirements of 32 M.R.S. §88(2)(D), the Rules, and the Board-approved Training Center Standards. 

0. A Training Center Authorization is issued for a period of 60 months unless earlier suspended or revoked.  An authorization may be issued for a shorter period of time if approved by the Board. 

0. A Training Center must demonstrate ongoing compliance with these Rules and the Training Center Standards in order to maintain its authorization.

§4. Renewal 

0. An application will not be accepted as complete unless it includes all materials required to be evaluated for authorization.

0. A Training Center may apply for a renewal authorization for up to ninety (90) days after the date of expiration.  The ninety-day period does not postpone the expiration date.  A Training Center with an expired authorization cannot provide education and training courses pursuant to the Training Center Standards.  An application submitted more than 90 days after expiration shall be considered a new application and subject to all requirements governing new applications.

0. In order to obtain an authorization renewal, a Training Center must:
 
A. Apply electronically; and,

B. Demonstrate, as may be required by Maine EMS, that it meets the licensing requirements of 32 M.R.S. §88(2)(D), these Rules and the Training Center Standards.

§5. Termination of Training Center Authorization 

Any Training Center intending to terminate its operations must make written notification to Maine EMS at least 30 days prior to the termination date. 
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