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May 1, 1987 
 
RE: Code Prohibition on pre-payment penalties (§2-509) and Federal Housing Administration 
Mortgages 
 
 A mortgage lender has posed a question relating to the interplay of certain Federal Housing 
Administration (FHA) regulations on prepayment and §2-509 of the Maine Consumer Credit Code  
which prohibits prepayment penalties.  The thrust of the questions is whether or not Maine law has 
been preempted by the relevant FHA regulations. 
 
 Various Parts of FHA Regulations on the FHA-Insured Single Family Mortgage Program 
(Parts 203, 213, 222 and 234 of 24 CFR) prior to August 2, 1985 required mortgagors to provide at 
least 30 days' written notice of intent to prepay mortgages insured under that program.  Because 
prepayment was also only permitted on installment due dates, this rule had the effect of requiring 
mortgagors to pay up to 60 days' worth of extra interest, depending upon when prepayment 
occurred.  Because of growing objection to the unfairness this practice worked on consumers, the 
FHA amended the rule, dropping the 30-day notice requirement.  After August 2, 1985 mortgagers 
could only require consumers to pay interest to the next installment due date (50 FR 25919, June 
24, 1985). 
 
 The questions posed by the mortgage lender reduce themselves to this:  a) is any interest 
paid after the date of prepayment, pursuant to FHA regulations (whether to the next installment 
due date on post-August 2, 1985 loans, or to the next installment due date plus 30 days on pre-
August 2, 1985 loans), a prepayment penalty under §2-509 of the Code?  b) is §2-509 of the Code 
preempted by the FHA Regulations?  The Bureau answers both questions in the affirmative. 
 
I.   EXTRA INTEREST WHICH MAY BE RECOVERED UNDER FHA REGULATIONS IS A 
PREPAYMENT PENALTY PROHIBITED BY THE CODE. 
 
 Section 2-509 provides: 
 

 Subject to the provisions on rebate upon prepayment, section 2-510 [not 
relevant here], the consumer May prepay in full the unpaid balance of penalty, except 
for minimum charges as permitted by law. 

 
 Because non-bank mortgage lenders are not exempt from the application of §2-509 to their 
mortgage products under §1-202(8), the prohibition on prepayment penalties would appear to apply.  
(It should be noted, however, that the Code only applies to real estate-secured transactions with 
rates in excess of 12¼% (§1-301(11), (14)) or which have the capacity to exceed 12¼% (AR # 45).) 
 
 The first question to be resolved is whether or not the extra interest under the FHA 
regulations is a "prepayment penalty."  The Code does not define the term; however, guidance is 
found in the Commentary to Regulation Z and from relevant case law.  The fifth update to the 
Commentary, effective April 1, 1986, makes it clear in §226.18(k)(1)-1, that for disclosure purposes, 
a prepayment penalty is any amount imposed when paying early that would not have to be paid if 
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the loan were paid at maturity.  Relevant case law reaches the same result on a contractual analysis 
basis.  Schmidt v. Interstate Federal S & L Ass'n, 421 F. Supp. 1016, (D.D.C. 1976); Goldman v. 
First Federal Savings & Loan Ass'n of Wilmette, 518 F. 2d 1247 (7th Cir. 1975).  In light of these 
precedents, the Bureau finds that the extra interest allowed to be assessed under FHA regulations 
is a prepayment penalty. 
 
II. SECTION 2-509 OF THE CODE IS PREEMPTED AS TO FHA INSURED MORTGAGES BY 
APPLICABLE FEDERAL LAW. 
 
 The next question is whether or not these prepayment penalties are exempt as "minimum 
charges...permitted by law" under §2-509, or are permissible under some other law.  The only 
permissible minimum charges the Code appears to authorize are found in §2-201(6) and §2-401(7), 
which involve minimum finance charges in small credit sales and loans, obviously not applicable 
here.  A review of the relevant provisions of federal housing law, however, discloses preemptive 
language which should be dispositive of the question.  12 USC §1709-la provides a general 
preemption of State mortgage usury law involving certain federally insured mortgages.  Specifically, 
the statute provides, in pertinent part:  
 

(a)  The provisions of ... any law of [a] State expressly limiting the amount of interest which 
may be charged, taken, received or reserved shall not apply to- 

 
(1)  Any loan or mortgage which is secured by one-to-four family dwelling and which is (A) 
insured under subchapter I or II of this chapter [the statutory authority for the FHA 
regulations in question].... 

 
(b)  The provisions of this section shall apply to such loans, mortgages or other interim 
financing made or executed in any State until the effective date (after June 30, 1976) of a 
provision of law of that State limiting the amount of interest which may be charged, taken, 
received or reserved on such loans, mortgages, or financings. 

 
 To the Bureau's knowledge the State of Maine has not overridden the federal preemption of 
its usury laws and related provisions set forth in 12 USC §1709-la.  Because of the effect of the 
general preemption worked by that section, any impact §2-509 would have on a non-bank mortgage 
lender's practices in collecting interest authorized under FHA regulation, is nullified.  In short, §2-
509 is preempted with regard to the FHA loan products identified in this Advisory Ruling. 
 
 
 
       /s/ Robert A. Burgess 
       Robert A. Burgess 
       Superintendent 
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