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Maine Labor Laws 
Frequently Asked Questions 

 
This document addresses topics and specific questions that are often asked of the Maine 
Department of Labor. Many additional answers to questions not addressed here may be obtained 
from other materials on this website or by calling the Department at 207-623-7900. Depending 
on the nature of your inquiry, you may need to seek legal guidance from private counsel on 
questions not governed by Maine’s labor laws. 

This FAQ document is considered general guidance and is not to be considered an official 
statement in place of legal positions. Please be sure to see the list of laws under M.R.S. Title 26, 
Chapter 7: Employment Practices for the written statute. 

1. What is the minimum wage? 

• Effective January 1, 2024, Minimum wage is $14.15 per hour. 
• See 26 MRS §663.3 for specific exemptions from the state minimum wage. 

 
2. Special note: Exemptions from federal minimum wage may differ. For federal minimum 

wage information please contact the USDOL at 1-866-487-9243 or visit their website. 
 
 
2. What is a service employee's minimum wage? 

Effective January 1st, 2024 “Service employee” means any employee engaged in an occupation 
in which the employee customarily and regularly receives more than $179 a month in tips. 

 
 
 

 
On January 1st, and every January 1st thereafter, the monetary amount over which an 
employee is considered a service employee under this subsection must be increased by the 
same percentage of the increase, if any, in the cost of living. The increase in the cost of living 
is measured by the percentage increase, if any, as of August of the previous year over the 
level as of August of the year preceding that year in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage 
Earners and Clerical Workers, CPI-W, for the Northeast Region, or its successor index, as 
published by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics or its successor 
agency, with the amount of the increase rounded to the nearest multiple of $1. 

 
Employers must pay service employees a direct service wage of at least 50% of the State 
Minimum Wage. 

Effective January 1, 2024, the State Minimum Wage will be $14.15 per hour and the direct 
service wage cannot be less than $7.08 per hour. 

If the employee's wages, when combined with actual tips received, do not average at least the 
State Minimum Wage at the end of the week, the employer must increase the direct service 
wage by the difference. 

https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26ch7sec0.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26ch7sec0.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec663.html
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Tips belong to the employee providing the service to the customer. Valid tip pooling 
arrangements only is permissible among service employees. 

Overtime (one and one-half times the regular rate of pay) is due on all hours worked over 40 
in a workweek in most employment situations. 

3. How many hours is full-time employment? How many hours is part-time? 

Full-time and part-time employment is not generally defined. These are determined by the 
employer and are commonly used to define how company benefits are earned. 

4. I feel that I have been unfairly discharged. What can I do? 

Most employment is "at-will," which means an employer may hire or fire at will and an 
employee may decide to work or not work for a company at will. This means an employer may 
legally fire an employee without notice and cause. 

An employer may not discriminate against an employee because of: 

• Race; 
• Skin color; 
• Gender; 
• Sexual orientation; 
• Age; 
• Physical or mental disability; 
• Genetic predisposition; 
• Religion; 
• Ancestry; or 
• National origin. 

If you feel your employer has discriminated against you based on one of these reasons, you 
should contact the Maine Human Rights Commission at 624-6290. 

If you would like to file for unemployment benefits because you believe that you lost your job 
through no fault of your own, visit the Department’s Unemployment website. 

5. My employer has changed my work schedule and pay -- is this legal? 
Maine labor laws do not prohibit an employer from changing work hours or schedules. The rate 
of pay can be lowered when the employer gives at least a one-day advanced notice to the 
affected employee. An employer may never lower the rate below the established minimum 
wage. 

6. My final paycheck is being held by the employer. What can I do? 
All earned wages are due on the next regularly scheduled payday after the termination of 
employment. If the final payment of wages is to be made in check form, the employer must 
have that check available for the employee to pick up at the business location on the 
established payday. If the employer is going to mail the check, then the check must be mailed 
so that it reaches the employee’s actual address no later than the established payday. An 
employee who is denied payment on the established payday can call 623-7900 to talk with a 
Wage and Hour representative. 

https://www.maine.gov/unemployment/
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7. Who can be placed on salary? 
There are two salary types. One is for employees (commonly referred to as non-exempt) whose 
job duties do not meet the Executive, Administrative or Professional exemptions established in 
26 MRS §663 (K). Non-exempt salaried employees are paid a predetermined fixed amount 
regardless of the number of hours they work. However, if they work more than 40 hours in any 
given week, their salary must be converted to an hourly rate that cannot amount to less than 
the State Minimum Wage and they must be paid overtime for all hours worked in excess of 40 in 
any given week. 
The second type is for employees (commonly referred to as exempt) whose primary job duties 
meet the Executive, Administrative or Professional exemptions established in 26 MRS §663 
(K). These employees are paid a predetermined fixed amount regardless of the hours worked. 
As of January 1, 2024 the minimum salary amount must be at least $816.35 per week. 
As of July 1, 2024 the minimum salary amount must be at least $844 per week. As of January 
1, 2025 the minimum salary amount must be at least $1,128 per week. Teachers and highly 
skilled computer staff may also be paid as exempt-salaried employees. Please check the Maine 
Wage and Hour Division Rules for specific guidance. 

8. Is there a new minimum amount that salaried “exempt” workers must be paid? 
As of January 1, 2024, the new minimum salary requirement is $816.35 per week. As of July 1, 
2024, the new minimum salary requirement will be $844 per week. As of January 1, 2025, the 
minimum salary will be $1,128 per week. 

9.  Does my employer have to pay my earned paid-vacation, paid-holidays, or paid-sick 
leave? 
Under Maine law, only the unused accrued vacation time is required to be paid upon termination 
in cases where the employer’s policy specifically states that the unused balance will be paid 
upon termination. 
Effective January 1st, 2021, employers must provide up to 40 hours of unrestricted Earned Paid 
Leave to all covered employees. There are some exceptions to this requirement. 
Visit the Bureau of Labor Standard’s Earned Paid Leave web page for more information. 

10. Does my employer have to provide me with rest breaks? 
Employers must offer employees a consecutive 30-minute unpaid or paid rest break after 6 
hours worked. An employee may waive his or her right to a rest break (preferably in writing). 
When the employer allows the employee to work through a rest break period, that time must be 
included as hours worked. 
Shorter breaks are common but not required by law. Shorter breaks or pauses away from 
performing duties must be paid and cannot be deducted from the employee’s time worked. 

11. Can my employer require me to take a consecutive 30-minute rest break? 

Yes. 

12. At what age can a child work? 

In most cases, the minimum age is 14. For exceptions see 26 MRS §771: Minors under 14 years 

of age. 

http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec663.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec663.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec663.html
https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/overtime.html
https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/earnedpaidleave/
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/26/title26sec771.html
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In most cases, an approved work permit is required for everyone under 16 years of age. 
Agricultural labor does not have a minimum age or work permit requirement. 

13. How does a minor obtain a work permit? 
In most cases, a work permit is required for minors under 16 years of age. The permit can be 
completed online here and printed. The minor submits the completed form to their area 
superintendent with the job offer and parental signature sections completed. The superintendent 
submits the application to the Bureau of Labor Standards for approval. The minor cannot work 
until the permit is approved. 
Minors can have one active permit during the school year and can have two during the summer. 
This process is described in more detail in our Guide to Maine Laws Governing the Employment 
of Minors. 

14. My employer has told me that any cash mistakes I make must be paid back. Can they 
do that? 
No. An employer cannot require or allow an employee to pay back for cash shortages, damages, 
customer walkouts, or credit card errors. 

15. My employer is verbally abusing/harassing me. Whom should I contact? 

For assistance with workplace sexual harassment or illegal discrimination, contact the Maine 

Human Rights Commission at 624-6290. 

16. I work as an independent contractor. What do I need to know about labor laws? 
The Department of Labor website includes information regarding the criteria used to determine 
Independent Contractors in Maine. It includes questions and answers as well as phone numbers 
to call for more information. The IRS also establishes guidelines on the issues in determining 
employee or independent contractor status. 

17. What posters must be displayed at work? 

A list of required State and Federal labor law posters can be found here on the Maine 

Department of Labor’s website. They are printable and provided at no cost. 

18. How does a fixed salary pay arrangement with fluctuating hours work? 
Fluctuating workweek overtime pay agreements are a way to comply with overtime 

requirements. The employee’s salary is meant to cover all hours worked in the week at straight 

time. 
Example: 

• An employee receives a salary of $636.75 for 45 hours worked. This equates to $14.15 per 
hour (which must be at least the State Minimum Wage). In this example, one-half of the 
average hourly rate multiplied by the number of hours worked over 40 in that week would 
be paid to cover overtime; therefore, $14.15 divided by two equals $7.08. Multiply $7.08 
by the 5 overtime hours worked and you get $35.40 of additional overtime wages due. The 
employee would be paid $636.75 + $35.40 = $672.15 gross wages for that 

https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/publications/2018/work_permit_072018.pdf
https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/publications/minorsguide.html
https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/publications/minorsguide.html
https://www.maine.gov/labor/labor_laws/publications/2018/work_permit_072018.pdf
https://www.maine.gov/labor/posters/index.html
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week. However, when the hours worked are below 40, for example, 38 hours, the 
employee is still paid the guaranteed $636.75 for the week and no overtime would be 
due. 

• In a fluctuating workweek overtime pay agreement, an employer will pay the guaranteed 
salary to the employee in weeks where the employee works fewer than 40 hours. In this 
agreement, the average hourly rate cannot be less than the State Minimum Wage rate 
currently in effect. 

• More detail can be found in Federal Law under 29 CFR 778.114 or by calling Maine’s Wage 
& Hour Division at 623-7900. 

• Each workweek stands alone, so true and accurate time records must be maintained and a 
clear agreement with the employee(s) should be in place. 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.govregs.com%2Fregulations%2F29%2F778.114&data=04%7C01%7CChristina.Starr%40maine.gov%7C1ee261c37a464c4cf3d508d981d5abaa%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C637683577316460857%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=nY071RoRYA07HQuJhDXnLjkHJm4CTGtdYANHzbWgJj8%3D&reserved=0
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