2024-25 MAINE SNOWMOBILE QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE

Please reference the *Maine 2024-25 Maine ATV & Snowmobile Laws* book for more details, available at mefishwildlife.com/snowmobilelaws.



More than 95% of Maine's snowmobile trails are on private property. With 14,000 miles of trails, that's a lot of generous landowners!

Help ensure Maine's trails stay open:

- · Stay on marked snowmobile trails.
- Remember that modified exhausts are **illegal**.
- Drive to the right and at an appropriate speed for your experience and the conditions.
- Stay alert and be aware of other riders, recreators, and wildlife on the trail.
- · Never drink and ride.
- · Pick up any trash.
- · Register your snowmobile.
- Follow the rules and ride safe.

REGISTER YOUR SNOWMOBILE

Registration fees provide the funding to build and maintain the trail system and help support the clubs and volunteers who provide the critical work to maintain trail systems and supports private landowners who allow trail access.

ATV and snowmobile registrations are valid from July 1st through June 30th. Snowmobile registrations submitted on or before May 31st will expire on June 30th of the current year. Snowmobile registrations submitted on or after June 1st will expire on June 30th of the following year.

Residents may renew their snowmobile registration at **mefishwildlife.com**. Residents must complete new registrations through a registration agent or the MDIFW main office in Augusta. Nonresidents may register their snowmobile online at **mefishwildlife.com**.

SUPPORT THE SPORT

Love to ride? Consider joining a local snowmobile club, volunteer to help maintain trails, and be sure your snowmobile is properly registered before riding.



The season registration for a snowmobile is valid for one year, commencing on July 1st of each year.

See resident and nonresident definitions on page 7 of the Maine ATV & Snowmobile Law Book. *Plus Agent Fee

10-Day: \$99*

3-Day: \$74*

AGE REOUIREMENTS

Prior to registration,

sales or use taxes are due.

\$55*

A person may not permit a child under 10 years of age to operate a snowmobile unless the child is accompanied by an adult. This does not apply on land that is owned by the parent or guardian or on land where permission for use has been granted to the parent or guardian.

A person under 14 years of age may not operate a snowmobile across any public way maintained for travel.

PURCHASE A SNOWMOBILE TRAIL FUND DONATION STICKER

Help support Maine's snowmobile program by purchasing a Snowmobile Trail Fund Donation Sticker. This program features three different stickers to reflect a donor's donation of \$25, \$50 or \$100, respectively. For every donation \$2 is retained by MDIFW and the remainder is transferred to the Snowmobile Trail Fund of the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, Bureau of Parks and Lands. Available for purchase at mefishwildlife.com/store.

ICE SAFETY: IF YOU DON'T KNOW, DON'T GO!

approached unexpectedly.

Ice conditions vary across the state and throughout the season. Always use extreme caution when venturing on Maine's waterways. When crossing water bodies, be aware of pressure ridges – they can cause extreme harm if

Antique snowmobiles must be

registered through the MDIFW

Augusta office in-person or via mail.

KNOW YOUR TRAIL MARKERS

Maine has an amazing network of trails making it possible for ATV and snowmobile riders to explore thousands of miles across the state. Access to these trails is made possible thanks in part to many generous private landowners.

Note: Interconnected Trail System (ITS) trails are not always open to ATV use. ITS trails that are open to ATV use will be posted with ATV trail markers.



Trail is OPEN to snowmobile use.

These markers may also include additional information about the trail.



No motor vehicles on snowmobile



Trail is CLOSED to snowmobile



Off trail riding is prohibited in this area.



Snowmobile trail maps are available at mesnow.com

SNOWMOBILE SAFETY & LAWS

Taking a ride on a snowmobile is a great way to be active and enjoy the beautiful Maine outdoors. Following safety precautions, rules, and common sense are necessary ways to ensure your ride on one of these machines is as safe as it is fun. Before you go, always tell someone where you are going and when you expect to return.

Don't drink and ride. A person may not operate or attempt to operate a recreational vehicle:

- While under the influence of intoxicating alcohol or drugs or a combination of alcohol and drugs;
- If 21 years of age or older, while having 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in that person's blood; or
- If less than 21 years of age, while having any amount of alcohol in the blood.

Use your lights. Riders are required to use lights during the period from ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise; and at any time when, due to insufficient light or unfavorable atmospheric conditions caused by fog or otherwise, other persons, vehicles and other objects are not clearly discernible for a distance of 500 feet ahead.

Ride to the right. A person may not operate a snowmobile to the left of the center on a snowmobile trail that is funded in whole or in part by the Snowmobile Trail Fund when approaching or navigating a curve, corner, grade, or hill.

Ride at a speed that is safe for the conditions and your experience. A person may not operate a snowmobile except at a reasonable and prudent speed for the existing conditions. Always maintain control of the machine.

Be responsible and aware of others. A person may not operate a snowmobile in such a way as to recklessly create a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to another person.

Respect private property. A person may not while operating a snowmobile: Tear down or destroy a fence or wall on another person's land; Leave open a gate or bars on another

person's land; or trample or destroy crops on another person's land.

Public Ways: A properly registered snowmobile may be operated on a public way only the distance necessary, but in no case to exceed 500 yards, on the extreme right of the traveled way for the purpose of crossing, as directly as possible, a public way, sidewalk or culvert.

Youth Snowmobiling Laws

Headgear: A person under 18 years of age may not operate a snowmobile or ride as a passenger without protective headgear.

Accompanying minors: A person may not permit a child under 10 years of age to operate a snowmobile unless the child is accompanied by an adult or they are riding on land that is owned by the parent or guardian or on land where permission for use has been granted to the parent or guardian.

Crossing public ways: A person under 14 years of age may not operate a snowmobile across any public way maintained for travel.

FREE SNOWMOBILE WEEKEND: MAR 7-9, 2025

During this weekend, a nonresident (from another state or province) may operate a snowmobile in Maine (no reciprocity necessary) so long as he/she has a valid registration from his/her home state or province.

WATCH OUT FOR WILDLIFE

If you encounter moose or other wildlife on the trail, please stop and maintain as much distance as possible until the species steps off the trail so you can pass safely. NEVER chase or pursue wild animals that often frequent trails. Any unnecessary physical activity can be dangerous or even deadly to an already stressed animal.

TAKE A SNOWMOBILE SAFETY COURSE

Participation in a snowmobile education course will teach you how to properly operate and maintain a snowmobile. Laws, responsibilities and personal safety will also be covered. Snowmobile safety courses are encouraged but not required. Learn more at mefishwildlife.com/safetycourses.

CANADIAN BORDER CROSSING

You must stop at customs to cross a Canadian/U.S. border. The penalty for not stopping is \$5,000 and loss of your snowmobile.

Trail Permits are required to ride in Quebec and New Brunswick and can be purchased online before your trip. For additional information about crossing the Canadian border as well as when the crossings are open, please see the ATV & Snowmobile Laws book at mefishwildlife.com/snowmobilelaws.

ETHICS ARE WHAT WE DO WHEN NO ONE ELSE IS WATCHING

Outdoor Partner at mefishwildlife.com/outdoorpartners.

In the Maine woods, rarely will anyone be there to notice your ethical behavior, but the landowner and other recreators that follow will greatly appreciate it. Ethical behavior is vital to Maine's sporting future, and it encourages landowners to keep their property open for all to enjoy. So remember: always respect the rights of landowners, always stay on the marked trail, and leave the area better than you found it.

Learn more about the Department's landowner relations program and support the work by becoming an