

JANET T. MILLS

GOVERNOR

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION & FORESTRY DIVISON OF ANIMAL AND PLANT HEALTH 28 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333

Amanda E. Beal Commissioner

To: Maine Hemp Growers From: DACF Hemp Licensing Program (<u>hemp@maine.gov</u>; 207.287.7545) Date: January 3, 2025

Re: FBI Criminal History Reports

Maine now has a USDA-approved hemp licensing program. The state plan can be found on the <u>USDA hemp website</u>. The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) requires that anyone who wishes to acquire a license to grow hemp must request a criminal background check (also called criminal history report) through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and submit that report to their hemp licensing authority. A person with a state or federal felony conviction relating to a controlled substance may not grow hemp for 10 years from the date of the conviction. [An exemption applies to a person who has lawfully been producing hemp under section 7606 of Farm Bill 2014 before December 20, 2018, and whose conviction also occurred before that date.]

Thanks to growers' feedback, DACF's Hemp Program has become aware that this process does not always go smoothly. We have put together what we've learned so far in this guidance document:

- Go to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Identity History Summary Checks webpage <u>https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks</u>. Follow the steps. The report must go back 10 years, be dated within 60 days of applying for a license, and it must include criminal history from the states as well as the federal level. The fee is \$18.
- **2.** Fingerprinting is a key step in the FBI process. Options for Maine hemp growers are limited:
 - a. State Bureau of Identification, 45 Commerce Drive, Augusta. They are fingerprinting experts and can do ink prints as well as live scan. You can call and make an appointment at 207-624-7240, ask for Jim or Dave.
 - b. United States Post Office on Forest Avenue in Portland, ME, can process your fingerprints at their passport department and submit them electronically to the FBI, which enables fast report generation. The fee is \$50. Making sure that this department is operating on a given day may not be possible. 207-871-8437 is a phone number to try. It's our understanding that you cannot make an appointment for fingerprints, which is unfortunate.

MEGAN L. PATTERSON, DIRECTOR DIVISION OF ANIMAL AND PLANT HEALTH 32 BLOSSOM LANE, DEERING BUILDING



PHONE: (207) 287-3891 FAX: (207) 287-5576 WWW.MAINE.GOV/DACF

- c. Local police departments may offer this service, and they are probably not used to doing it for a purpose such as this. We do not have a list so you must inquire directly with law enforcement agencies near you. Make sure that your prints are done carefully with black ink on the standard fingerprint form (**FD-1164**). The FBI will reject prints that are of poor quality or on the wrong form. Expect fingerprinting to be done on a white card (F-1164) and not electronically, which will take longer to get to the FBI for processing. There may be a fee.
- **3.** FBI has been sending results electronically to the applicant. Please forward the PDF to the hemp program.