

GOVERNOR

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION AND FORESTRY ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM 28 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0028

Amanda E. Beal Commissioner

Ronda Steciuk Director

## **Vendor License Instructions**

Please complete a Vendor License Application in its entirety. The vendor license will expire 90 days from the day the application is processed. If you need to advertise beyond the 90 days you must reapply for a new vendor license. A new vendor license will be issued upon receipt of \$25.00.

## 7 § 4163. Dog or cat vendor's license

A person may not advertise for sale, sell or exchange for value more than one cat or dog under the age of 6 months in a 12-month period unless that person has a valid animal shelter, kennel, breeding kennel or pet shop license or a valid vendor's license issued under this section. [2007, c. 702, §36 (AMD).]

**1. Vendor's license; fee.** A person may apply for a vendor's license by completing and submitting to the department an application form provided by the department. Upon receipt of a completed application, the department shall issue a vendor's license and an identifying license number that is valid for a period of 90 days from the date of issuance. A person is entitled to one vendor's license in a 12-month period at no charge. A fee of \$25 must be submitted with each additional application for a vendor's license within a 12-month period. [ 2007, c. 702, §37 (AMD).]

**2.** Advertising. A person possessing a vendor's license issued under this section must include that vendor's license number in any form of advertising, brochure or sign that announces the availability of a dog or cat for sale or exchange. The vendor's name and license number must be provided to a person purchasing or otherwise receiving a dog or cat from the vendor. [ 2007, c. 439, §34 (NEW)

**3. Violation.** A person who fails to comply with this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$200 may be adjudged, none of which may be suspended. [ 2007, c. 439, §34 (NEW) .] Please note the definition of a breeding kennel listed below. If you qualify as a breeding kennel under this definition, you must have a Breeding Kennel license in order to operate and may not obtain a vendor license.

If you qualify as a breeding kennel under this definition, you must have a Breeding Kennel license in order to operate.

8-A. Breeding kennel. "Breeding kennel" means a location where 5 or more adult female dogs or cats capable of breeding are and some or all of the offspring are offered for sale, sold or exchanged for value or a location where more than 16 dogs or cats raised on the premises are sold to the public in a 12-month period. "Breeding kennel" does not include a kennel licensed by a municipality under section 3923-C when the dogs are kept primarily for hunting, show, training, sledding, competition, field trials or exhibition purposes and not more than 16 dogs are offered for sale, sold or exchanged for value within a 12-month period.

Please return your signed application to the address below via mail or fax:

Maine Animal Welfare Program 28 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0028 Phone: (207) 287-3846 Fax: (207) 624-5028 Email: <u>animal.welfare@maine.gov</u>



JANET T. MILLS GOVERNOR

## STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION AND FORESTRY ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM 28 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0028

AMANDA E. BEAL Commissioner

Ronda Steciuk director

## **Vendor License Application**

(Please print, completely fill it out and sign the form below in order to prevent any delays in processing)

Name(s)					
Mailing Address:	Physical Address:				
	Cell:		County:		
Species: Cat:	Dog:	Breed	(s):		
How many adult female dogs/	cats located at this add	ress that are n	not spayed or neut	ered?	
Name of Dog/Cat	Current Dog Li	cense #	Rabies Tag #	Rabies Expiration Date:	
Number of Puppies/Kittens in	litter:	Date P	Puppies/Kittens we	ere born:	
Signature	Date				
Please retu	rn your signed applicat	tion to the add	lress below via ma	ail or fax:	
	28 State	al Welfare Pro House Statio ME 04333-00	'n		

Phone: (207) 287-3846 Fax: (207) 624-5028 Email: animal.welfare@maine.gov

A person is entitled to one vendor's license in a 12-month period at no charge. For any additional license applications, please include a check or money order for \$25.00. Pay to the order of Treasurer State of Maine.