
Practical Nurse Licensure by Endorsement/Reciprocity 
State of Maine Licensure Requirements 

 
The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect 

other information that maybe requested based on review of an application. 

 

Application and Fee 
 

1. Apply on-line at www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and select I want to apply 
for a license and follow the directions. The fee is $ 50.00. 

2. Upload a current picture (not a copy of a driver’s license, ID, or passport) 

3. Upload a signature page that is manually signed. The on-line process will 

provide information where to find this form or go to 

www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and the form is located in the licensing 

section. 

4. Send in supporting documentation. All “yes” responses to questions in the 

disciplinary section of the application require a signed explanation (and 

court documents for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago). 

• Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333; or 

• Endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov 

5. The non-refundable application fee is $50.00. 
 

Nurse Licensure Compact Information 
 

1. A legal resident of another compact state cannot apply for practical nurse 
license by endorsement in the state of Maine. 

2. A legal resident of another compact state, moving to Maine would need to 

provide a Declaration of Primary Residence Form when the applicant 

relocates to Maine. The form can be found at 

www.maine.gov/boardofnursing in the licensing section. 

3. Maine state law authorizes the board to request any or all documents that 

provide proof of legal residency in Maine, including driver’s license, voter 

registration, car registration, tax forms, and validation of residence. 

http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
mailto:endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov
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Transcript 

 
1. Transcripts may be required on a case by case after review of an 

application. If you are requested to contact your nursing program to 

submit a transcript it should be mailed or e-mailed to: 

• Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333 or 

• Endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov 

 
Criminal Background Check 

 
1. Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an 

applicant to complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal 

background check on initial licensure. Go to 

www.maine.gov/boardofnursing. Select “I want to obtain a criminal 

background check” and follow the instructions. The criminal background 

check results are only valid for 90 days. 

 
Verification of License 

 
1. Verification of licensure is required either through NURSYS, if your 

original license was issued in a NURSYS participating state or directly 

from the Board in the state that does not participate in NURSYS. The 

NURSYS e-mail address is www.nursys.com ($30.00 Visa or Master 

Card) 

2. Verification of licenses from foreign countries are also required. If an 

applicant originally was licensed in a foreign country or held a license in 

another country, the license information needs to be verified. 
 

Foreign or Canadian Applicants 

1. The applicant is required to have a transcript review by the Commission 

of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs (CGFNS) www.cgfns.com, and 

the information must be submitted to the Board office by CGFNS or 

posted for our review on the CGFNS website. 

mailto:endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov
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2. TOEFL is required for foreign or Canadian applicants prepared in a 

program with texts and instruction in a language other than English. 

 

3. Effective May 22, 2023, applicants who have been educated at a 

Foreign (Country other than the United States) educational facility, 

and who are seeking licensure in Maine from the Maine Board of 

Nursing, must report ALL foreign (outside the United States) 

licenses to be verified/validated through CGFNS and reported in the 

CES report. 

 

Additionally, if an applicant’s education was taught in any language 

other than English, the applicant must submit the scores of a TOEFL 

English language proficiency test. Maine accepts ONLY the TOEFL 

for English language proficiency test. 

NCLEX-PN 

1. The NCLEX-PN is required for all foreign applicants that have not taken 

this examination in another jurisdiction. 

2. The NCLEX-PN is required for all Canadians endorsing from Canada to 

Maine that have not already taken the NCLEX-PN examination. 

3. The NCLEX-PN may be required for Canadian applicants endorsing into 

Maine from other states that have never taken the NCLEX, depending on 

the Maine existing laws at the time the Canadian applicant endorsed into 

the United States. 

United States (US) Social Security Number 

1. The applicant must be issued a US Social Security Number before the 

applicant can be issued a Practical Nurse License. 

Important Information 
 

1. Applications are processed in the order they are received. Status of an 

application may be checked by going to the following link: 

www.maine.gov/boardofnursing. Select “I want to check the status of an 

application” and follow the instructions. 

2. A license will be emailed to the current email address on file with the 

board. 

3. After verifying an active Maine state license on the board website, 

enrollment with Nursys E-Notify is recommended. Select “As a Nurse” to 

http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
https://www.nursys.com/EN/ENDefault.aspx


complete the registration process. 

4. Maintain current contact information with the Maine State Board of 

Nursing. To update your information, go to 

www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and select the appropriate option in the 

“I want to” box. 

http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing

