October 26, 2016

WEEKLY NOTICES OF STATE RULE-MAKING
Public Input for Proposed and Adopted Rules

Notices are published each Wednesday to alert the public regarding state agency rule-making. You may obtain a copy of any rule by notifying the agency contact person. You may also comment on the rule, and/or attend the public hearing. If no hearing is scheduled, you may request one -- the agency may then schedule a hearing, and must do so if 5 or more persons request it. If you are disabled or need special services to attend a hearing, please notify the agency contact person at least 7 days prior to it. Petitions: you can petition an agency to adopt, amend, or repeal any rule; the agency must provide you with petition forms, and must respond to your petition within 60 days. The agency must enter rule-making if the petition is signed by 150 or more registered voters, and may begin rule-making if there are fewer. You can also petition the Legislature to review a rule; the Executive Director of the Legislative Council (115 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, phone 207/287-1615) will provide you with the necessary petition forms. The appropriate legislative committee will review a rule upon receipt of a petition from 100 or more registered voters, or from "...any person who may be directly, substantially and adversely affected by the application of a rule..." (Title 5 Section 11112). World-Wide Web: Copies of the weekly notices and the full texts of adopted rule chapters may be found on the internet at: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules. There is also a list of rule-making liaisons, who are single points of contact for each agency.


PROPOSALS


AGENCY: 99-639 - ConnectME Authority
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 101, ConnectME Authority
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2016-P167
BRIEF SUMMARY: The purpose of this chapter is to incorporate revisions to the Advanced Technology Infrastructure Act contained in Title 35-A MRS ch. 93 (specifically Sections 9201 to 9218), including the operation of the ConnectME Authority.
DETAILED SUMMARY: This revision of Ch. 101, ConnectME Authority, maintains the current operating structure and incorporates several changes to 35-A MRS ch. 93 as a result of legislation passed in the 127th session of the State of Maine Legislature. These changes include:
* a refinement and clarification of the duties of the ConnectME Authority;
* changes in definitions of terms used in Chapter 101;
* minor changes in data filing requirements;
* the elimination of the Infrastructure Grant program challenge process; and
* the addition of the Planning Grant program and associated process
PUBLIC HEARING: November 18, 2016, 2:00 p.m. at the Maine Public Utilities Commission office at 101 Second Street, Hallowell, ME 04347
COMMENT DEADLINE: November 28, 2016
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS INFORMATION / ConnectME RULE-MAKING LIAISON: David W. Maxwell, Program Director, ConnectME Authority, 145 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 624-9793. E-mail: David.W.Maxwell@Maine.gov .
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 35-A MRS ch. 93
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED (if different):
AGENCY WEBSITE: www.maine.gov/connectme .


ADOPTIONS


AGENCY: 09-137 – Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IFW)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 4, Hunting and Trapping: 4.03, Deer Hunting Seasons
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2016-173
CONCISE SUMMARY: In accordance with 12 MRS  11401 sub- 1  E., the Department has adopted a rule that details the process to allow a nonresident who owns 25 or more acres of land in the State and leaves that property open to hunting, holds a valid hunting license and is not otherwise prohibited by law, to hunt deer on the Saturday preceding the first day of open season on deer (resident only day). Forms will be provided by the Department for the nonresident landowner to verify they are the lawful owner of 25 acres or more in Maine. A complete copy of the rule is available from the contact person below.
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 19, 2016
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Becky Orff, Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, 284 State Street, 41 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-5202. E-mail: Becky.Orff@Maine.gov .
IFW WEBSITE: www.maine.gov/ifw/ .


AGENCY: 09-137 – Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IFW)
CHAPTER NUMBERS AND TITLES:
Ch. 1, Open Water and Ice Fishing Regulations;
Ch. 1-A, State Heritage Fish Waters
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2016-174, 175
CONCISE SUMMARY: The Commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife has adopted rules pertaining to open water fishing and ice fishing. This body of rules is printed in its entirety in the Open Water & Ice Fishing Laws and Rules booklet (January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017) and will be available from the Department, online at www.maine.gov/ifw , as well as license agents. The Department has also made additions to the State Heritage Fish waters list to include three (3) bodies of water: Little Fowler Pond, T5R9 WELS; Upper Twin Pond, T2R9 WELS; Moose Pond, T3R8 WELS. For a copy of adopted changes prior to release of the laws and rules booklet, please contact the agency rule-making contact person (below).
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2017
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Becky Orff, Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, 284 State Street, 41 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333. Telephone: (207) 287-5202. E-mail: Becky.Orff@Maine.gov .
IFW WEBSITE: www.maine.gov/ifw/ .