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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES
BUREAU OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AND LOTTERY OPERATIONS
DiVISION OF LIQUOR LICENSING AND ENFORCEMENT

Application for Special Taste Testing Event License

This application is being submitted as required by 28-A M.R.S. Section 1052-D. Please complete this application
in its entirety. This application must be signed by the licensee or an agent of the licensee and the municipality
where the event will be located. Completed forms and payment must be in the office 15 (fifteen) days before
event is to be held.

Section 1: Event Information

Title of Event:

Location and address of Event:

Date of Event: Time of Event: From: To:

Contact Person: Telephone:

Email Address:

Describe specific area to be licensed and attach a diagram: O Inside Event O Outside Event

Special Taste Testing Requirements:

Sample Size and Limit: Please indicate the type of taste testing event for which you are applying. If you select
“Tasting C” below, you must also choose the options of C.1 or C.2. Please note, except as otherwise provided,
sample sizes and overall daily sample limits are as follows:

Spirits — % ounce Beer — 4 ounces Wine — 1% ounces
12 samples per person per day

A. [] Taste testing-only event. There is no sit-down meal designed to promote food and
alcoholic beverage pairings or substantial food offerings provided as part of the
taste testing event. Sample size applies and daily sample limit applies.

B. n Taste testing event with substantial food offerings. The selection of food must
include more than snack foods such as potato chips, crackers, popcorn, pretzels etc.
Sample size applies but 12 sample daily limit does not apply.
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C. [] Food and beverage hospitality event where 50% or more of the vendors taking part
in the event represent or promote a business other than a business that manufactures
or distributes liquor. Select one of the options below.

Cl O Event will include a multicourse sit-down meal designed to promote food
and alcoholic beverage pairings. The sample size and the 12-sample daily limit
do not apply.

Date and approximate time for sit-down multi-course meal:

c2 O Event will NOT include a multicourse sit-down meal designed to promote food and
alcoholic beverage pairings but will provide substantial food offerings. Sample
size applies but 12—sample daily limit does not apply.

Section 2.A: Signature; Fee; Delivery of application

By signing this application, the licensee/applicant understands that false statements made on this application are
punishable by law. Knowingly supplying false information on this application is a Class D Offense under Maine’s
Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year, or by monetary fine of up to $2,000 or by both.

Please sign and date in blue ink.

Dated:
Signature of Duly Authorized Person Signature of Duly Authorized Person
Printed Name Duly Authorized Person Printed Name of Duly Authorized Person

A. Your completed application must be accompanied by the fee of $20.00 per applicant listed in sections
3,4 or 5. Please be sure to calculate the fee by the number of pages submitted for each section 3, 4 or
5.
1. Please make your check payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine
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B. Where to send your application:
1. Mailing address:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations

Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement
8 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0008

2. Courier/overnight address:

Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations

Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement
10 Water Street
Hallowell, ME 04347

C. For questions on this application, please contact the Bureau at (207) 624-7220 or by email at

Liguor.Licensing@Maine.gov.

D. Incomplete applications, applications not submitted with the appropriate fee or not received by the

Bureau fifteen (15) days prior to the event may impact the Bureau’s ability to approve your application.

Section 2.B: Approval of an application for a special taste testing event for use by Municipal Officers and

County Commissioners only

The undersigned hereby certifies that we have complied with the process outlined in 28-A M.R.S. 8653 and

approve this taste testing event application on the following date:

Check only one: [] City [] Town []

Name of City/Town/Unorganized Territory:

Unorganized Territory

Who is approving this application? [ Municipal Officers
[I County Commissioners of

County

Signature of Officials

Printed Name and Title
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Section 3: For use by Maine licensed Manufacturer of malt liquor or wine, Wholesaler or Certificate
of Approval Holder

A Legal name and DBA of licensee:

B. Maine Liquor License Number: Expiration Date:

C. Complete Mailing Address:

D. Contact Person:

E. Telephone/Mobile Number: Fax number:

F. Email Address:

Signature of duly authorized person of the licensee Date

Printed name of duly authorized person of the licensee

Please note: Complete as many Section 3 pages as needed for this application. All pages must be submitted
together with the entire application.
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Section 4: For use by a Sponsored Licensee for a malt liquor or wine event

This section only needs to be completed if a non-Maine licensed certificate of approval holder or manufacturer is
sponsored by a Maine licensed certificate of approval or manufacturer. A sponsored licensee must provide a copy
of its state and federal licenses or permits authorizing the manufacture of alcoholic beverages.

A. Legal Name and DBA of Sponsored Licensee:

B. Complete Mailing Address

C. Daytime Telephone Number: Fax:

D. Email Address:

E. State where sponsored applicant is licensed:
F. Name of Sponsoring Maine Licensee:
Signature of duly authorized person Date

Printed name of duly authorized person

Please note: Complete as many Section 4 pages as needed for this application. All pages must be submitted
together with the entire application.
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Section 5: For use by a Maine licensed Distillery or a Broker who represents a Supplier or
Manufacturer of spirits

A Type of Applicant: Check only one

] Maine Licensed Distillery  License Number:

Legal Name and DBA of Licensee:

] Broker License Number:

Name of Broker:

B. Complete Mailing Address

C. Daytime Telephone Number: Fax:

D. Email Address:

Signature of licensee or broker Date

Printed name of licensee or broker

Please note: Complete as many Section 5 pages as needed for this application. All pages must be submitted
together with the entire application.
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Section 6: For Bureau Use Only for Review of Application

Date Filed: Received 15 days prior to event? L] Yes 0 No
Date Reviewed: Reviewed By:
O Approved 0 Not Approved

If not approved, reason:

Other Notes to Applicant, if any:
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Section 7: Instructions for Completing an Application and Important Information about Holding a

wn

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

Taste Testing Event

The organizer of a Special Event must complete the first page of the application and seek municipal or in
unorganized towns, county approval. Signatures must be originals.

The organizer of a Special Event must be a qualifying licensee.

The entire application must be completed in its entirety and must be legible.

In-state qualifying licensees must complete Section 3 of the application and must specifically name all
personnel participating in the event that the licensee is sponsoring. Another industry applicant must
specifically identify the wholesaler or manufacturer being sponsored.

Out of state qualifying licensees must complete the sponsored licensee section (Section 4: Sponsored
Licensee Information) application and must specifically name those intended representatives, personnel
or pourers.

A Maine licensed distillery, out of state manufacturer or supplier of spirits, or a broker who represents an
out of state manufacturer or supplier of spirits must complete Section 6 and must specifically name those
intended representatives, personnel or pourers.

In order to timely process your application, you must file this application at least 15 days prior to the
event. The Bureau reserves the right to reject an application not submitted by this time.

By law, liquor can only be served from 5:00am to 1:00am of the next day, Sunday through Saturday,
Event times cannot deviate from this statutory requirement.

Once issued, this license is not assignable and is valid only for use by the applicants named in this
application and for the date, time, and location listed in this application. This license is issued subject to
Maine liquor laws, Title 28-A, and the Bureau’s Administrative Rules. Penalties for failure to comply
with the laws and rules are provided in Chapter 33 of Title 28-A. A license under this application may be
filed jointly by multiple licensees.

All servers of alcohol must complete and have on file with the event organizer an affidavit as defined in
28-A M.R.S. 8703-A and which is provided below.

The following may be licensed in a special event:  An in-state manufacturer of malt liquor, wine or
spirits, a Maine wholesaler, a Certificate of
Approval Holder, a broker who represents suppliers
or manufacturers of spirits and a sponsored
applicant.

The following may participate in a special event:  An in-state manufacturer of malt liquor, wine or
spirits, a Maine wholesaler, a Certificate of
Approval Holder, a broker who represents suppliers
or manufacturers of spirits and a sponsored
applicant.

The following may be a sponsored manufacturer: A manufacturer licensed in another state.

The following licensees may provide malt liquor, wine or spirits under this application:

A manufacturer licensed under section 1355-A; a wholesaler licensed under section 1401; a Certificate of
Approval Holder; a broker licensed under section 1502 who represents a supplier or manufacturer of spirits

and a sponsored manufacturer licensed outside of Maine who is registered with TTB and who has paid all
excise taxes on product provided.
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15.  The following licensees may designate a person to pour samples of malt liquor, wine or spirits:

mooOwp

A manufacturer;

A sponsored manufacturer, if any;

A wholesaler;

A certificate of approval holder; or

A broker of a spirits manufacturer or supplier

16.  Any person designated by a licensee in #15 must be identified with a badge or other means of identification
that clearly provides the following information and the badge must be clearly visible to persons being

served:

moow>x

Name of manufacturer;

Name of the sponsored manufacturer, if any;

Name of the wholesaler;

Name of the Certificate of Approval Holder; or

Name of Broker of a spirits manufacturer or supplier and the name of the represented supplier
or manufacturer

17. Other requirements:

A.

B.
C.

All servers must complete an employee affidavit. This affidavit must attest that any person
designated to serve beer, wine or spirits has not been found to have violated any state or federal
law prohibiting the sale or furnishing of alcohol to a minor;

All licensee must record the number of patrons of the event; and

Samples may not be pre-poured.

Caution: There are a variety of ways in which various entities may conduct taste testing events under Title 28-A,
Section 1052-D. Events have their own list of requirements and it is important that when you select the type of
event you want to hold that you fully understand the conditions of that taste testing event. To review all
requirements of a 1052-D event, please use this link.
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Section 8: Common Violations that may be cited at a Taste Testing Event
**Liquor is defined by Maine’s liquor laws as malt liquor, wine, hard cider and spirits**

e Sale of liquor to a minor
e Allowing possession of liquor by a minor
e Allowing a minor to remain on the licensed premise unaccompanied by parent or legal guardian

e Sale of liquor to a visibly intoxicated person
e Allowing possession of liquor by a visibly intoxicated person
Allowing a visibly intoxicated person to remain on the premise

Employees or designated servers consuming liquor while on duty
Employees or designated servers showing the effects of liquor
Licensee showing effects of liquor

Allowing entertainers to consume liquor while performing
Allowing entertainers to show the effects of liquor

e Allowing consumption in an unapproved area
e Allowing smoking in areas where consumption of food or liquor is taking place

e Allowing samples to be pre-poured

e Servers are not properly identified
e Servers violate the sample size
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